This is the "Home" page of the "*Social Work" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

*Social Work   Tags: social_work  

Resources to help you get started in researching social work.
Last Updated: Oct 6, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.fsu.edu/socialwork Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Welcome to the Florida State University Libraries Social Work guide.  Use the tabs at the top to find sources and information to help you research your social work topics. You might also find the related libguides links helpful. Please contact me if you need assistance or more information.

FSU College of Social Work

 

Becoming a Social Worker

The site Social Work Degree will help you get started in your Social Work career. It includes lists of social work schools and resources for research.

Accreditation & Standards

Social Work Pioneers

Key Resources

  • Annual Reviews
    Authoritative, analytic reviews in 32 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
  • APA PsycNET
    APA delivers all of its databases on APA PsycNET. Based on years of user research and usability testing, APA PsycNET is designed specifically for APA databases, with all searchable fields mapped to APA products. Full-text of some tests.
  • ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
    Contains information on social services, psychology, sociology, health information.
  • Cochrane Collaboration
    Prepares full-text systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare.
  • DSM Premium
    Premium collection provides diagnosis and differential diagnosis, case vignettes to illustrate real-life examples, treatment guidelines, and current research, all within one search and navigation interface that includes journals (e.g., Journal of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences), and books (i.e., DSM-IV-TR, DSM-IV-TR Handbook and Casebook, and DSM archives).
  • PILOTS
    The PILOTS bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont. The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
  • PsycINFO
    Description: Online version of Psychological Abstracts, 1887 to present. Covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations, in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Some links to full text.
  • Social Services Abstracts
    Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development from 1980-
  • Social Sciences Full-text
    Covers some 350 core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations from 1983-Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994. Abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full text coverage begins in January 1995.
  • ISI Web of Science
    Includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text. Formerly called Web of Science. Now part of the Web of Knowledge.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
 

     Catalog Search

(hints)

advanced
| renewals / library account

Subject Headings

Below is a list of possible subject headings you can use to search the catalog for books and journals about social work. To browse by subject heading, click on Advanced search, go to Option 3, then select Subject from the Browse Organized Lists drop-down menu, type the subject heading in the search box, then click the Go box.

      Absent fathers
      Abused women
      Adults molested as children
      Aging
      Aid to families with dependent children 
      Alcohol abuse
      Bereavement
      Caregiver burden
      Child abuse
      Child sexual abuse
      Child welfare
      Community development
      Community health services
      Crisis intervention
      Cross-cultural counseling
      Delivery of health care
      Developmental disabilities
      Drug abuse government policy
      Evidence and outcome based practice
      Eating disorders
      Elder care
      Emergency management
      Evaluation research (social action programs)
      Family psychotherapy
      Family relationships
      Family services
      Family social work
      Family therapy
      Family violence
      Foster home care
      Health and mental health disparities
      Health care reform
      Health services accessibility
      Homeless persons
      Homelessness
      Housing policy
      Incarceration
      Long-term care facilities
      Managed care plans (medical care)
      Medical care
      Mental health policy
      Mental illness
      Old age pensions
      Older people--government policy
      People with social disabilities
      Poor
      Program evaluation
      Program planning
      Public policy     
      Public welfare
      School social work
      Singe mothers
      Social case work
      Social group work
      Social problems
      Social service
      Social work administration
      Social work education
      Social work with African American children
      Social work with alcoholics
      Social work with immigrants
      Social work with juvenile delinquents
      Social work with men
      Social work with minorities
      Social work with older people
      Social work with people with social disabilities
      Social work with people with mental disabilities     
      Social work with the aged
      Social work with women
      Social work with youth
      Social workers
      Social service
      Teenage parents
      United states--social policy
      Urban poor  
      Vulnerable populations



      

    Research Librarian

    Profile Image
    Marcia Gorin
    Contact Info
    Scholars Commons
    Strozier Library
    850-645-2708
    Send Email

    Social Work Associations

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip