Their purpose is to examine government programs and operations, and determine if they are efficient and effective. Some of their audits are required by law, but most are undertaken at the request of a Congressional Committee. Good site for program evaluation
"The European Federation of National Organizations Working with the Homeless is an umbrella of not-for-profit organizations which participate in or contribute to the fight against homelessness in Europe. "
"A nonprofit, non-partisan, organization committed to preventing and ending homelessness in the United States. By improving policy, building capacity, and educating opinion leaders, the Alliance has become a leading voice on this issue."
"The National Association for the Education of Homeless Children and Youth (NAEHCY) is the voice and social conscience for the education of children and youth experiencing homelessness. NAEHCY accomplishes this through advocacy, partnerships, and education."
"The mission of the United States Interagency Council on Homelessness (USICH) is to coordinate the federal response to homelessness and to create a national partnership at every level of government and with the private sector to reduce and end homelessness in the nation while maximizing the effectiveness of the Federal Government in contributing to the end of homelessness."
Report from the National Alliance to End Homelessness
Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence by Nicky Ali Jackson (Editor)The Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence is a modern reference from the leading international scholars in domestic violence research. This ground-breaking project has created the first ever publication of an encyclopedia of domestic violence. The primary goal of the Encyclopedia is to provide information on a variety of traditional, as well as breakthrough, issues in this complex phenomenon. The coverage of the Encyclopedia is broad and diverse, encompassing the entire life span from infancy to old age. The entries include the traditional research areas, such as battered women, child abuse and dating violence. However, this Encyclopedia is unique in that it includes many under-studied areas of domestic violence, such as ritual abuse-torture within families, domestic violence against women with disabilities, pseudo-family violence and domestic violence within military families. It is also unique in that it examines cross-cultural perspectives of domestic violence. One of the key special features in this Encyclopedia is the cross-reference section at the end of each entry. This allows the reader the ability to continue their research of a particular topic. This book will be an easy-to-read reference guide on a host of topics, which are alphabetically arranged. Precautions have been taken to ensure that the Encyclopedia is not politically slanted; rather, it is hoped that it will serve as a basic guide to better understanding the myriad issues surrounding this labyrinthine topic. Topics covered include: Victims of Domestic Violence; Theoretical Perspectives and Correlates to Domestic Violence; Cross-Cultural Perspectives and Religious Perspectives; Understudied Areas within Domestic Violence Research; Domestic Violence and the Law; and Child Abuse and Elder Abuse.
Call Number: General Collection HV6626 .E534 2007
Publication Date: 2007-02-22
Encyclopedia of Homelessness by David Levinson (Editor)Homelessness is one of the major social problems and personal and family tragedies of the contemporary world. No community, city, or nation is immune and the lack of affordable housing and a decline in secure, well-paying jobs means that the problem will only get worse. The Encyclopedia of Homelessness is the first systematic effort to organize and summarize what we know about thus complex topic which impacts not only the homeless but all of society. The Encyclopedia whilst focussing on the current situation in the United States, ensures an international perspective by including a comparative sampling of homelessness from around the world. Articles cover: · Causes · Lifestyle Issues · Health Issues and Services · History · Legal Issues and Advocacy · Government Policies and Programs · Organizations · Research Approaches · Service Systems and Settings · Size and Characteristics of the Homeless Population · Public Perceptions of Homelessness · World Issues and Perspectives Additional descriptive articles cover homelessness today in a sample of American cities and a sample of cities and nations of the world, allowing for quick and easy comparisons. The Encyclopedia contains entries on Australia, Brazil, Canada, Cuba, France, Guatemala, Japan, Nigeria, Russia, Sweden, the United Kingdom, Zimbabwe, Tokyo, Calcutta, London and others from around the world. The Encyclopedia of Homelessness meets the needs of a broad audience, offering a rich history and the data, views, and perspectives of experts from different disciplines and perspectives, including: · Sociologists; · Anthropologists; · Economists; · Historians; · Social Policy Analysts and Planners; · Program Administrators; · Physicians; · Social Workers; · Lawyers who provide advocacy and services; · Journalists; · Students of history, social studies, and the social sciences in high school through graduate school.