Children with Multiple Mental Health Challenges: an Integrated Approach to Intervention by
Mental health practitioners who work with children are often confronted with complex, difficult-to-treat mental health issues that do not respond to conventional methods of psychotherapy. These children have a web of multiple impairments that are comprised not just of emotional and behavioral issues, but also learning and other cognitive disorders."Children With Multiple Mental Health Challenges" presents an innovative, evidence-based approach to understanding and treating this difficult population that integrates the child's development and functioning into diagnosis and treatment. It does not rely on diagnostic categories alone, but explores the functioning of children in several dimensions of development and considers multiple levels of influence. The book builds on an individualized, integrated approach to present a variety of evidence-based strategies for working with children with multiple challenges. It considers children from preschool age to adolescence with a number of severe difficulties. These may include extreme aggression, oppositional defiant behavior, significant anxiety and depression, cognitive and academic challenges, delays in speech and language, problems with attention and concentration, sensory integration problems, and unresolved trauma. The treatment strategies included can be used by various specialists within the intervention team, as well as by parents and teachers. Key Features: Presents an innovative approach to working with children with multiple disorders, often the most challenging cases for clinicians Moves beyond standard "recipes" for treatment planning to encompass developmental (including social and biological factors) and functional aspects of working with children Includes case studies as well as detailed treatment plans Offers treatment strategies that can be used by the intervention team, teachers and parents
Improving Mental Health Care by
Written by many of the world's leading practitioners in the delivery of mental health care, this book clearly presents the results of scientific research about care and treatment for people with mental illness in community settings. The book presents clear accounts of what is known, extensively referenced, with critical appraisals of the strength of the evidence and the robustness of the conclusions that can be drawn. Improving Mental Health Care adds to our knowledge of the challenge and the solutions and stands to make a significant contribution to global mental health.
Managing Madness in the Community by
nbsp;While mental illness and mental health care are increasingly recognized and accepted in today's society, awareness of the most severely mentally ill--as well as those who care for them--is still dominated by stereotypes.nbsp; Managing Madness in the Community dispels the myth.nbsp; Readers will see how treatment options often depend on the social status, race, and gender of both clients and carers; how ideas in the field of mental health care--conflicting priorities and approaches--actually affect what happens on the ground; and how, amid the competing demands of clients and families, government agencies, bureaucrats and advocates, the fragmented American mental health system really works--or doesn't. In the wake of movies like One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest and Shutter Island, most people picture the severely or chronically mentally ill being treated in cold, remote, and forbidding facilities.nbsp; But the reality is very different.nbsp; Today the majority of deeply troubled mental patients get treatment in nonprofit community organizations.nbsp; And it is to two such organizations in the Midwest that this study looks for answers.nbsp; Drawing upon a wealth of unique evidence--fifteen months of ethnographic observations, 91 interviews with clients and workers, and a range of documents--Managing Madness in the Community lays bare the sometimes disturbing nature and effects of our overly complex and disconnected mental health system. Kerry Michael Dobransky examines the practical strategies organizations and their clients use to manage the often-conflicting demands of a host of constituencies, laws, and regulations.nbsp; Bringing to light the challenges confronting patients and staff of the community-based institutions that bear the brunt of caring for the mentally ill, his book provides a useful broad framework that will help researchers and policymakers understand the key forces influencing the mental health services system today.
Mental Health Issues and the University Student by
Case-based intervention strategies for mental health professionals working with college and university students. Young adults enter college with many challenges--complicated family dynamics, identity issues, and extreme pressure to succeed, among others. Students may also have mental health difficulties, ranging from adjustment disorders to mood disorders, and growing numbers of them are seeking help on campus. But these students are also resilient and eager to learn, stepping onto campus with hope for a new and better phase of life. Doris Iarovici, a psychiatrist at Duke University Counseling and Psychological Services, sees in college and university mental health services an opportunity for mental health professionals to bring about positive change with young people during a crucial period of their development. Dr. Iarovici describes the current college mental health crisis and narrates how college mental health services have evolved along with changes in student populations. She discusses students' lifestyle problems and psychiatric concerns, using case vignettes to explore a variety of interventions. Included are discussions of substance abuse, relationship difficulties, eating disorders, depression and anxiety, and culture clashes. Problems uniquely addressed in this book include sleep disturbances and perfectionism. An essential component of the volume is a guide to making emergency assessments, from risk classification and hospitalization to public safety and communication within and outside the campus community.
EBSCO's collection of over 30,000 recently published titles consisting of a broad range of reference, scholarly, popular and professional books. Compatible with all mobile devices, no separate app is required.
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 1,100 Oxford books in the areas of Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. Includes full text and abstracts.
Wiley Online Library features 1,500 journals, over 14,000 books, and hundreds of multi-volume reference works, databases, and other resources.
© Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706