The 2019 #RealCollege National Survey report surveyed over 86,000 students and found that 45% of respondents were food insecure in the prior 30 days. 56% of respondents were housing insecure in the previous year and 17% of respondents were homeless in the previous year. This is a big issue for college students, especially given the COVID-19 pandemic.
Florida PIRG is eager to inform FSU students about the resources that are available to them. Hunger and Homelessness Awareness Week is running from Nov. 15-22, this week! We have compiled a list of resources (below) that students can use if they are experiencing hunger or homelessness, or if they want to help food or housing insecure members of our community.
Welcome to the Florida State University Libraries Social Work guide. Use the tabs at the top to find sources and information to help you research your social work topics. You might also find the related libguides links helpful. Please contact me if you need assistance or more information.
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 9,100 full-text periodicals, including nearly 7,900 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,690 journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. Updated daily.
An excellent tool on social science research methods includes over 1000 methods books, 1100 case studies, reference works, journal articles, and instructional video tutorials by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. In addition, the full-text titles from the Sage’s Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series(“The Little Green Books”) and Qualitative Research Methods Series ("The Little Blue Books”) books are available.
© Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706
