EDF 5519: The History of Higher Education

Welcome to the EDF 5519: The History of Higher Education Research Guide! This guide contains information about locating unique and hard to find materials in FSU Special Collections & Archives (SCA) that may be of use to EDF 5519 students in their research and writing. Should you have any questions regarding SCA policies, procedures, or materials, please check the "SCA Toolkit" you can find in your course Canvas site for further information, including how to contact us. 

From your course syllabus: 

• This course examines the history, philosophy, policies, practices, and challenges of Higher Education in an American context. In this course, we will examine higher education in America from the 1600s and to the present. The course will examine the growth and development of higher education and review how social, political, and economic trends influenced (and continue to influence) American higher education. Successful completion of this course should provide a solid foundation for the study of higher education and an appreciation for the diversity and breadth of higher education in America. 

EDF 5519 & SCA Collaboration: 

• Students will have access to an "SCA Toolkit" in their Canvas Site
• Students will have access to a research guide with information on locating and working with SCA Materials
• Students will schedule individual visits to Special Collections & Archives to conduct their own research for their coursework
• Students will visit Special Collections & Archives as a class for further training and experience with primary sources

Visit SCA Online

Special Collections & Archives Website

FSU Library Catalog
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Special Collections and Archives"

FSU Finding Aid Database

FSU Digital Repository

Email SCA Staff

Visit SCA In-Person

Visit SCA Spaces

SCA Reading Rooms Hours

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Claude Pepper Library
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217