In addition to the wealth of photographs FSU Special Collections & Archives holds in its collections, there are other local archival repositories that also document FSU history in photographs.
Florida State University Historic Photograph Collection (HUA 2016-003)
Photographs from the 1880s up to the 2010s. It is one of the most comprehensive visual representations of university history in Special Collections & Archives.
Flambeau/FSView Photograph Collection (MSS 2006-012)
Photographs taken for the student newspapers the FSView and the Florida Flambeau from 1970-1999.
Florida Flambeau Photographs (HUA 2016-018)
Photographs taken for the student newspapers the FSView and the Florida Flambeau from 1980-1999.
Alumni Association Collection (HP 2007-0AG)
Photographs gathered by the Alumni Association, covering a wide range of topics dating from the 1900s up to the 1980s.
University Communications Collection (HUA 2016-009)
Print photographs and negatives taken by FSU’s Office of University Communications for marketing and communications purposes. The earliest photos in the collection date from 1940, though the majority were taken between 1990-2013.
J. Barry Mittan Photograph Collection (HUA 2011-041)
Print photographs and negatives taken by J. Barry Mittan, former campus photographer, dating from 1960-1979. Particularly well documented is the Flying High Circus.
Mark Wallheiser Photographs (SCA 2024-008)
Digital images, film negatives, and photographic prints documenting the career of photojournalist Mark Wallhesier, former photographer for the Tallahassee Democrat.
© Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706