Skip to main content

Florida State Heritage & University Archives

Find resources to learn about the history of Florida State University and its predecessor institutions.

Donating or Transferring Materials

For information on donating student, alumni, or other materials: please contact Heritage & University Archivist, Sandra Varry.

For information on transferring departmental records to the archive: please consult the University Records Webpage.

 

Welcome to the Heritage & University Archives Research Guide

Westcott in 1946

Westcott (1946), Florida State University Historical Photograph Collection, http://purl.flvc.org/fcla/dt/124610 

Collections

Materials in our collections encompass a wide range of topics from the official papers of past university administrators to handmade student scrapbooks.  

  • All of our collections can be searched using our finding aid database, ArchiveSpace, and our library catalog.
  • All of our holdings, including the photographs and collections referenced in this guide, are physically available through the Special Collections & Archives Research Center located on the main floor of Strozier Library on Florida State University’s Tallahassee campus. 
  • Some of our materials are available in FSU's digital library, DigiNole.

Spaces

The Heritage Museum and the Norwood Reading Room are public spaces that are part of Heritage & University Archives.

  • The Heritage Museum is located in Dodd Hall, which was the library for Florida State College for Women and then FSU from 1923 to 1956. Exhibits in the museum display photographs, ephemera, and artifacts that document the history of FSU.
  • The Norwood Reading room is located on the second floor of Strozier Library and is a quiet space dedicated to the founder of Heritage & University Archives, Mary Lou Norwood. This space also features an annually rotating exhibition that showcases Florida State University related materials. 

Please visit our website to learn more about our program or contact Sandra Varry, Heritage & University Archivist.

Heritage & University Archivist

Special Collections & Archives

Special Collections & Archives spaces are closed to the public at this time. For latest updates on SCA public services, please visit our Services Page or contact us at lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu.

Online
lib.fsu.edu/specialcollections
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu
FSU Library Catalog
fsu.catalog.fcla.edu
Use Advanced Search to limit Location to “Strozier, Special Collections”
Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu
FSU Digital Library
diginole.lib.fsu.edu/digital_library


Guide Authors

Mary Kate Downing (2016)
Paige Downey (2020)
Kacee Reguera (2020)

 

 

 

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706