Florida State Heritage & University Archives

Throughout the course of its history Florida State University has functioned as various educational institutions. The school was chartered in 1851 by an act of the General Assembly of Florida that called for the establishment of two seminaries of higher learning, one to the east and one to the west of the Suwannee River.

The first iteration of the school physically opened in 1855 and was alternately called "The City Seminary" and "Tallahassee Male Seminary." In 1856, it was renamed the Florida Institute. In 1857, the school was designated as the official seminary west of the Suwannee River and renamed the West Florida Seminary.

In 1901, the school was renamed "Florida State College" in order to reflect changes that had been made to the curriculum.  By this time, the school had expanded, boasting clubs and organizations, participation in intercollegiate athletics, and dormitories.

In 1905, the Florida legislature passed the Buckman Act in an attempt to reduce duplication in Florida's institutions of higher education. As a result, Florida State College was renamed "Florida Female College" and was transformed into a college exclusively for white women. In 1909, the name of the institution was changed to the more grammatically correct "Florida State College for Women."

With the end of World War II and the Congressional passage of the GI Bill, there was an enormous influx of male students looking to earn a college degree. In 1947, Florida's governor signed a bill transforming both Florida State College for Women and the University of Florida, which had been exclusively for white male students, back into coeducational institutions. The Florida State College for Women was then renamed Florida State University.

For more information about Florida State please visit the university's About FSU page.

Office of the President

Provides information about current and past FSU presidents and first ladies, including biographies and speeches.

Office of Institutional Research

The source for statistics on FSU regarding students, faculty, and more. Includes surveys and reports, metrics, and annual Fact Books. 

Florida State University Black Alumni Association

FSU's Black Alumni Association lists "firsts" on their website for African Americans at FSU, from first Black graduates to the first Black Greek letter organization.

NoleFan.org

A website dedicated to FSU Athletics with a wealth of resources related to FSU sports, with statistics as early as 1902 to the present, an athlete index, sod cemetery index, articles, and more.

FSU Legacy Walk

The virtual companion to the FSU campus Legacy Walk provides an online historic tour of the FSU campus, focusing on the university's history, architecture, artworks, and green spaces. A brief history and photographs are included of each location.

Exploring FSU's Past: A Public History Project

A website created by students in Dr. Jennifer Koslow's Introduction to Public History class in fall 2006. It includes a timeline of university history, brief histories on cam[pus monuments and memorials, and walking tours on subjects from FSU Sporting Venues to Campus During World War II. 

Living on Campus: Residence Halls at Florida State University Past and Present

A website created by graduate students in the Historical Administration and Public History Program in the 2019-2020 academic year directed by Dr. Jennifer Koslow. The site traces the history of residence halls on FSU's campus. It includes collection items from the Heritage & University Archives organized into sets by building.

Facilities Records & Archive and Building Portal

FSU Facilities manages many records related to the construction and renovation of FSU buildings and other facilities, including floor plans, photographs, deeds, leases, agreements, studies, and more. Some of these records may be made available upon request. The Building Portal provides basic information about campus buildings, searchable by name or address. Some information requires a valid FSU login or can be accessed upon request.

Online

Main SCA Website
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections

Email SCA Staff
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu

Visit SCA
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit

FSU Library Catalog
fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_FSU:Home
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Special Collections and Archives"

FSU Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu

FSU Digital Library
https://repository.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:digital_library

Special Collections & Archives Reading Rooms Hours

Fall 2024

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Monday 10am - 6pm
Tuesday 10am - 6pm
Wednesday 10am - 7pm
Thursday 10am - 6pm
Friday 10am - 5pm

Claude Pepper Library Reading Room
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217 

Monday 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 110am - 5pm
Wednesday 10am - 5pm
Thursday 10am - 5pm
Friday 10am - 5pm