Abstracts and indexes journal articles covering countries other than the United States and Canada in the subject areas of history, the social sciences and humanities. The scope of coverage is World History (1450–present) and related areas including culture, diplomacy, economics, international relations and politics.
Resource URL: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=hia
Subjects: Asian Studies, History, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Eighteenth Century Collections Online is based on The English Short Title Catalogue, a machine-readable union list of the holdings of the British Library, as well as those from more than 1,500 university, private and public libraries worldwide. This includes over 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701–1800. This online collection is divided into seven subject areas: history and geography; social science and fine arts; medicine, science and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; and reference. Part II expands the collection with an emphasis on literature, social science, and religion.
FSU has access to parts one and two.
Resource URL: https://link.gale.com/apps/ECCO?u=tall85761
Subjects: History, Literature
Type: E-Book Collections, Historical / Primary Sources
The Nineteenth Century Collections Online includes Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, Literature: High and Popular Culture; Children's Literature and Childhood; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature; Photography: The World Through the Lens; Religion, Spirituality, Reform, and Society; Science, Technology, and Medicine, 1780–1925; Science, Technology, and Medicine, 1780–1925, Part II; Women: Transnational Networks.
The Burney Collection Newspapers is a full-text, fully searchable digital archive of nearly 1,270 17th and 18th century newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom. Collected by the Reverend Charles Burney, this unique collection represents the largest single archive of 17th and 18th century news media available from the British Library.
Resource URL: https://link.gale.com/apps/BBCN?u=tall85761 Abbreviation: bcn Vendor: Gale Coverage: 1603–1788 Subjects: History Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
British Library Newspapers, Part I and II (1800–1900) include regional and local newspaper titles that illuminate diverse and distinct regional attitudes, cultures, and vernaculars, providing an alternative viewpoint to the London-centric national press. Parts III (1741-1950), IV (1732-1950), and V (1746-1950) add even more regional and local depth, encompassing powerful provincial news journals, local interest publications, and specialist titles. Part VI (1783-1950) provides the Irish perspective, a counterpoint to the major UK daily newspapers.
FSU Libraries has access to parts one through six of the British Library Newspapers collection.
Resource URL: https://link.gale.com/apps/BNCN?u=tall85761
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
This resource offers facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the seventeenth century through to the twentieth century. The titles were selected by Professor Daniel Fader of the University of Michigan on the basis of their importance and difficulty of access in American libraries, and issues were sourced from over 100 libraries worldwide. FSU has access to collections one through four.
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718–1876—the largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers published in this region—will provide a comprehensive primary resource for studying the development of Western society and international relations within this important group of islands. This unique resource will prove essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region as far back as the early 18th century.
Resource URL: http://infoweb.newsbank.com/apps/readex/welcome?p=EANACN
Subjects: History, Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
Searchable and browsable digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the London Times in PDF files, 1785–1985 and 2015-2019. The PDFs in this database are not transcribed into text, so you may need to search for keywords with unusual spelling for earlier copies. For articles outside of these dates, use the database Times (The London Times).
Resource URL: https://link.gale.com/apps/TTDA?u=tall85761
Coverage: 1785–1985, 2015–2019
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Images, Newspapers and Newswires
Sourced from the archive of The Worshipful Company of Stationers & Newspaper Makers, located at Stationers Hall in the City of London, Literary Print Culture: The Stationers Company Archive, 15542007, allows access to a vast and unique collection of primary source documents. The collection is widely regarded as one of the most important primary sources for studying the history of the book as well as publishing history, the history of copyright and the workings of an early London Livery Company. Explore the variety of documents to uncover the story of the role the Stationers Company played in the history of the book trade.
Resource URL: http://www.literaryprintculture.amdigital.co.uk Abbreviation: amlpc Vendor: Adam Matthew Digital Ltd Coverage: 15542007 Subjects: History, Literature Type: Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Images
A ground-breaking and engaging reference work providing 58,700 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. State-of-the-art search options, extensive internal cross-referencing, access to articles from the original DNB, and navigation by "themes" combine with rigorous research and scholarship to make the Oxford DNB one of the most innovative and important reference sites available online.
Please note: Oxford Dictionary of National Biography only allows access for 10 FSU users at one time. If you are being asked for a username and password, please try to access the database later.
British History Online is a digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800. While FSU Libraries does not subscribe to this database, many of the more than 1,200 historical documents are freely available without a subscription.
This guide was substantially revised in 2018 by Adam Beauchamp and Dr. Charles Upchurch of the FSU History Department.