Research Guides: *Public Health: Topic: Health Care &amp; Policy

Health Care Policy

Area Health Resources Files (from data. hrsa.gov)
Don Health Care Professions, Health Facilities, Population Characteristics, Economics, Health Professions Training, Hospital Utilization, Hospital Expenditures, and Environment at the county, state and national levels
Commonwealth Fund: Health Care
A nonprofit private foundation supporting independent research on health policy reform and a high-performance health system.
Federal and State Health Policy | International Health Policy Center
Kaiser Foundation: Health Reform
Includes infographics, polls, and podcasts
National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation
Covers Health Equity, Health Delivery, Rural Health, etc.
RAND Health Care
A division of RAND Corp., a research organization that develops solutions to public policy
Social Determinants of Health: Know What Affects Health (from CDC)
Includes Policy Resources to Support SDOH

Databases for Public Policy

[Databases for Health Policy]

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) Plus with Full Text research database provides full text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals indexed in the CINAHL database, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937 and expanded content. Additional materials included in CINAHL Plus with Full Text include Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
Tutorials:
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial (Video)
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial (Video)
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)
Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (Video)
Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (PowerPoint)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Pocket Guide (PDF)
CINAHL User Guide (doc, 40 pages)
Training Tutorials for EBSCO Products

Phone Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Abbreviation: cinahlft
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1937-Current
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Prepares full-text systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare. Each Cochrane Review is a peer-reviewed systematic review that has been prepared and supervised by a Cochrane Review Group (editorial team) in The Cochrane Collaboration according to the Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions or Cochrane Handbook for Diagnostic Test Accuracy Reviews.
Subjects Covered:
Acute Respiratory Infections (200)
Airways (485)
Anaesthesia (321)
Back (298)
Bone, Joint and Muscle Trauma (278)
Colorectal Cancer (276)
Dementia and Cognitive Improvement (279)
Depression, Anxiety and Neurosis (785)
Eyes and Vision (200)
Heart (209)
Hepato-Biliary (400)
Menstrual Disorders and Subfertility (260)
Musculoskeletal (349)
Neonatal (394)
Neuromuscular Disease (266)
Oral Health (224)
Pain, Palliative and Supportive Care (314)
Peripheral Vascular Diseases (437)
Pregnancy and Childbirth (681)
Renal (245)
Schizophrenia (270)
Skin (296)
Stroke (226)
Upper Gastrointestinal and Pancreatic Diseases (213)
Wounds (208)

Abbreviation: cochrane
Vendor: Wiley
Subjects: Communication Disorders, Medicine, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: E-Journal Collections
MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources. PubMed links to full-text articles to which FSU has a subscription.
Subjects:
clinical medicine
dentistry
education
experimental medicine
health services administration
nursing
nutrition
pathology
psychiatry
toxicology
veterinary medicine

Tutorials:
User Guide

Abbreviation: medline-pm
Vendor: National Library of Medicine
Coverage: 1965-Current
Subjects: Communication Disorders, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index provides materials on public affairs from 1972 to date. Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. Contains a variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Subject coverage:
Administration of justice
Agriculture, forestry and fishing
Banking and finance
Business and service sector
Culture and religion
Economic conditions
Education
Energy resources and policy
Environment
Government
Health conditions
Human rights
International Relations
Labor conditions and policy
Law and ethics
Manufacturing and industry
Media and communications
Military and defense policy
Politics
Population and demographics
Science and technology
Social conditions
Trade
Transportation

Abbreviation: pais
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1972-Current
Subjects: International Affairs, Political Science, Urban and Regional Planning, Public Health, Asian Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Policy File Index includes access to timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.
Abbreviation: pqpfi
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: Economics, International Affairs, Political Science, Public Administration and Policy
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

[Databases for Other Public Policy]

CQ Almanac This link opens in a new window
The CQ Almanac Online Edition brings together over sixty years of authoritative congressional reporting in one, easy-to-use resource. Included are original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session. Arranged thematically, CQ Almanac organizes, distills, and cross-indexes for permanent reference the full year in Congress and in national politics. Its clear and concise language makes the Almanac an essential resource for scholars, journalists, interested citizens, and students of the U.S. legislative system.
Abbreviation: cqalm
Vendor: Sage Publishing
Coverage: 1945-2017
Subjects: Political Science, Public Administration and Policy
Type: Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources
Congressional Publications (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Congressional Publications provides a comprehensive view of congressional action and the behind-the-scenes activity involved in crafting U.S. legislation. It includes the Congressional Research Digital Collection (CRDC), Committee Prints and CRS Reports (1824–Present), Statutes at Large (1789–present), and the Serial Set (1789–1969), and Hearings (1824-1979, 1980-2003). Includes the Federal Register & Political News. Note that not all hearings have full text transcripts.
Tutorials:
ProQuest Congressional Publications LibGuide

Abbreviation: conguni
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1789-Current
Subjects: History, Law, Political Science, Public Administration and Policy, Public Safety and Security
Type: Government Publications
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the OECD, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Everything published by the OECD (books, journals, series, working papers, databases) is available online on OECD. OECD iLibrary also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF). OECD iLibrary presents all content so users can find - and cite - tables and databases as easily as articles or chapters in any available format: PDF, WEB, XLS, ActiveChart, DATA, ePUB, READ.
Tutorials:
User Guide

Subjects include:
Agriculture and Food
Development
Economics
Education
Employment
Energy
Environment
Finance and Investment
Governance
Industry and Services
Nuclear Energy
Science and Technology
Social Issues/Migration/Health
Taxation
Trade
Transport
Urban, Rural and Regional Development

Abbreviation: sourceoecd
Vendor: OECD
Subjects: Anthropology, Art, Business, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Geography, Higher Education, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Music Education, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sociocultural and International Education, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO is also widely-recognized source for teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video. All sections of CIAO are updated monthly.
Abbreviation: ciaonet
Vendor: Columbia University Press
Coverage: 1991-Current
Subjects: Asian Studies, International Affairs, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Political Science, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Think Tanks Reports

Think Tank Search
From Harvard University. Customized Google Search Engine to find reports from think tanks
Open Think Tank Directory
Directory of leading think tanks around the world
Find Policy
Search the works from 14 leading think tanks on public policy
Policy Research Database
From Institute for Public Policy and Social Research at Michigan State Univ. To access the full text of an item found from the database, try our library's OneSearch
Issue Lab
Policy Commons

Resources on Infographics

Check this research guide from FAU for free and fee-based tools to create Infographics.

Health Care Cost

ICPSR Health and Medical Care Archive (HMCA)
Data archive of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, preserves and disseminates health care data collected by researchers. Subjects covered include health care providers, cost/access to health care, substance abuse, and chronic health conditions.
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) Databases from AHRQ
- Identify, track, and analyze national and state-wide trends in healthcare utilization, access, charges, quality, and outcomes.
Health Care Cost Institute
- Covers the trends driving health care spending growth in the U.S.
Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS.gov)
Healthcare.gov
Historical
- National Health Expenditure Estimates report of total health care spending in the United States, dating back to 1960.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (from Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality)
A set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. The most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.

Health Care Industry Reports

BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Tutorials:
BCC Research YouTube Channel

Abbreviation: bccr
Vendor: BCC Research LLC
Coverage: Current
Subjects: Environmental Sciences, Engineering, Marketing
Type: Datasets / Statistics
IBISWorld Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window
Abbreviation: ibisworld
Vendor: IBISWorld
Subjects: Business, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Marketing
Type: Reports
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's) This link opens in a new window
Abbreviation: nasp
Vendor: Standard & Poor's
Subjects: Business, Communication, Economics, Finance, Hospitality
Type: E-Book Collections
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Content:
Briefs, Pleadings and Motions
Cases
Company and Financial
Directories
Law Reviews and Journals
Legal News
News
Statutes and Legislation

Abbreviation: nexis
Vendor: LexisNexis
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Hospitality, Law, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Sociology
Type: Directories, Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires, Proceedings

Career: Health Care Consulting

Guide to Careers in Health Care Consulting (from the George Washington University)
National Society for Certified Healthcare Business Consultants
Best Consulting Firms for Health Care Consulting (from Vault.com)

*Public Health

Related Research Guide

Organizations

Health Care Policy

Databases for Public Policy

Think Tanks Reports

Resources on Infographics

Health Care Cost

Health Care Industry Reports

Career: Health Care Consulting