Research Guides: Health Communication: Home

Home

Related Guides

*Communication & Media Studies: The Portal
by Kyung Kim Last Updated Nov 6, 2024 950 views this year

*Public Health
by Kyung Kim Last Updated Dec 13, 2024 1422 views this year
COVID-19 (2019 Novel Coronavirus)
by Kyung Kim Last Updated Jun 7, 2023 7 views this year
Gun Violence and Gun Control
by Kyung Kim Last Updated Oct 9, 2024 533 views this year
Social Policy
by Kirsten Kinsley Last Updated Dec 18, 2024 0 views this year
Systematic Reviews
by Kelly Grove Last Updated Sep 9, 2024 1428 views this year

Communication Librarian

Kyung Kim

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Department of Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities at Strozier Library

Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Hospitality, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning

Suggested Keywords

Behavioral Medicine
Communication in Medicine
Consumer Health Information
Epidemiology
Health Attitudes
Health Behavior
Health Communication
Health Education
Health Literacy
Health Marketing
Health Promotion
Medical Communication
Medical Informatics
Medical Telematics
Preventive Medicine
Public Health
Risk Communication
Social Marketing
Telecommunication in Medicine

Databases

Key Databases

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) Ultimate provides full-text access to nursing and allied health journals and covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, and nursing instructional videos. PICO (Patient, Population, or Problem; Intervention; Comparison; Outcome) searching is supported.
Tutorials:
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial (Video)
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial (Video)
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)
Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (Video)
Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (PowerPoint)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Pocket Guide (PDF)
CINAHL User Guide (doc, 40 pages)
Using PICO Search in CINAHL Ultimate

Phone Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Abbreviation: cinahlft
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1937–Current
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Covers all areas of medicine, including clinical medicine, experimental medicine, dentistry, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and much more.
Subjects:
clinical medicine
dentistry
education
experimental medicine
health services administration
nursing
nutrition
pathology
psychiatry
toxicology
veterinary medicine

Abbreviation: medline-ovid
Vendor: Wolters Kluwer
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Human Development & Family Science, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
PubMed (NLM) This link opens in a new window PubMed, is a service of the National Library of Medicine, which provides access to over 16 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. MEDLINE is the primary database used for getting to the subject content of articles in medicine. There are several ways to get to MEDLINE, including OVID and PubMed. The FSU customized version of PubMed links directly from the article reference to the full article for all electronic journals available at FSU.
Tutorials:
PubMed Online Training

See also: MeSH (Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus and will assist you in formulating your successful searches.)

Abbreviation: pubmd
Vendor: National Library of Medicine
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Engineering, Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Music Therapy, Nursing & Integrative Physiology, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs

Other Databases

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts on the Web is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional. ASSIA currently contains over 375,000 records from over 500 journals published in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.
Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database

Abbreviation: assia
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1987–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Geography, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Safety and Security, Retail Entrepreneurship, Social Work, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Prepares full-text systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare. Each Cochrane Review is a peer-reviewed systematic review that has been prepared and supervised by a Cochrane Review Group (editorial team) in The Cochrane Collaboration according to the Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions or Cochrane Handbook for Diagnostic Test Accuracy Reviews.
Subjects Covered:
Acute Respiratory Infections (200)
Airways (485)
Anaesthesia (321)
Back (298)
Bone, Joint and Muscle Trauma (278)
Colorectal Cancer (276)
Dementia and Cognitive Improvement (279)
Depression, Anxiety and Neurosis (785)
Eyes and Vision (200)
Heart (209)
Hepato-Biliary (400)
Menstrual Disorders and Subfertility (260)
Musculoskeletal (349)
Neonatal (394)
Neuromuscular Disease (266)
Oral Health (224)
Pain, Palliative and Supportive Care (314)
Peripheral Vascular Diseases (437)
Pregnancy and Childbirth (681)
Renal (245)
Schizophrenia (270)
Skin (296)
Stroke (226)
Upper Gastrointestinal and Pancreatic Diseases (213)
Wounds (208)

Abbreviation: cochrane
Vendor: Wiley
Subjects: Communication Disorders, Medicine, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: E-Journal Collections
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window Provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Abbreviation: health-psych
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1985–Current
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition & Integrative Physiology, Public Health
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window Health and Wellness offers access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices. Material contained in this resource is intended for informational purposes only. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
Abbreviation: health-well
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1980–Current
Subjects: Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Newspapers and Newswires, Streaming Audio
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Abbreviation: hrca
Vendor: Gale
Subjects: Medicine, Nursing
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Indexes / Catalogs, Streaming Video

Free Databases

Alcohol Studies Database
BioMed Central
CDC Wonder
Database of Promoting Health Effectiveness Reviews (DoPHER)
Health Services Research Projects in Progress (HSRProj)
MCH Digital Library
POPLINE
Public Library of Science (PLoS) Contains the following journals: PLOS One, Biology, Medicine, Genetics, Computational Biology, Pathogens, Neglected Tropical Diseases -PLOS One covers: Biology and life sciences, computer and information sciences, earth sciences, ecology and environmental sciences, engineering and technology, medicine and health sciences, physical sciences, research and analysis methods, science policy, social sciences

Key Journals and Trade Publications

American Journal of Preventive Medicine
American Journal of Public Health
Annual Review of Public Health
Communication Research
Health Communication
Health Education & Behavior: The Official Publication of the Society for Public Health Education
Journal of Health Communication

Population Health: Data & Statistics

FastStats (from the National Center for Health Statistics)
America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being (from Childstats.gov)
Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (from CDC)
Children's Health - Statistics & Facts (from Statista database)
Data Source Center for Child & Adolescent Health (from Johns Hopkins University)

College Students ' Health (from Statista)
ACHA-NCHA Data (American College Health Association's National College Health Assessment)

FactStats: Men's Health (from National Center for Health Statistics)
Health, United States, 2018: Men's Health (from CDC)
Men's Health in the US (from Statista)

Older Americans 2016: Key Indicators of Well-Being (from Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics)
Data Briefs Series (from National Association of Chronic Disease Directors)
Global Aging (from National Institute on Aging, World Health Organization)