Internet/Government Diversity Data
World Bank's Gender Data Portal
It is not easy to get an existing diversity data for startups and founders, but here is an option.
Focusing on U.S. Private companies, you can build a list of companies that are founded or led by the following groups using the keywords option in the advanced search:
American Indian, Asian-founded (or Led), Black-founded (or Led), Latinx-founded (or Led), LGBTQ-led, Middle Eastern / North African Founded (or Led), Minority-led, Veteran-led, Women-Founded (or Led), We can also have special runs made by company.
- Anatomy of an Entrepreneur - fills in some gaps by providing insights into high-growth founders’ motivations, their socio-economic, educational, and familial backgrounds, as well as their views on the factors determining the success of start-ups.
- Panel Study of Entrepreneurial Dynamics (PSED) - Panel Study of Entrepreneurial Dynamics (PSED) research program is designed to enhance the scientific understanding of how people start businesses. The projects provide valid and reliable data on the process of business formation based on nationally representative samples of nascent entrepreneurs, those active in business creation. PSED I began with screening in 1998-2000 to select a cohort of 830 with three follow-up interviews. A control group of those not involved in firm creation is available for comparisons. PSED II began with screening in 2005-2006, followed by six yearly interviews. The information obtained includes data on the nature of those active as nascent entrepreneurs, the activities undertaken during the start-up process, and the characteristics of start-up efforts that become new firms.
Small Businesses
"ASE provides annual data on the number of business owners of employer businesses by gender, ethnicity, race, and veteran status by industry and geographic area."
"SBO provides data on the number of business owners of employer and non-employer businesses by gender, ethnicity, race, and veteran status by industry and geographic area."
- Forthcoming Nonemployer Data
"The Census Bureau is developing a new data program, partially funded by the Office of Advocacy, to provide annual estimates of the number of business owners of nonemployer businesses by gender, ethnicity, race, and veteran status. For more details, see working paper, Nonemployer Statistics by Demographics (NES-D): Exploring Longitudinal Consistency and Sub-national Estimates. NES-D data is expected to be available in 2021."
Workforce Diversity
General
- The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission collects data in the Employer Information Report EEO-1 on gender and racial diversity in the workplace in private industry. See FAQs about the survey. Due to the time it takes the EEOC to process the data, there is a lag between when it is collected and then reported. Additional diversity employment data is available for other sectors like public schools and the government.
Explore EEO-1 Data
EEOC - Special Reports
- Industry-specific reports and data and reports on the experiences of various ethnicities in workplaces in the U.S.
Tech
- While many tech companies release diversity reports, we're not yet aware of a dataset that has aggregated them into a usable dataset. The following are some other options:
DiversityReports.org
- This organization has aggregated some basic diversity figures at large companies and includes links to the underlying diversity report.
Reveal Tech Diversity Data, 2016
- Part of the Center of Investigative Reporters, Reveal collected data on diversity in tech and released reports. This data is based on the 2016 EEO-1 survey.
HR and Labor Reations (LR) Practices: Company Analysis
Business Source Complete
- Business Source Complete provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,800 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for top scholarly journals, including the Harvard Business Review. It also includes industry and country reports from Euromonitor and company and industry reports from Datamonitor.
CorporateRegister.com
- CorporateRegister.com is a global directory of CSR (corporate social responsibility) resources, currently incorporating: CSR Report Directory, the world's largest online directory of company issued CSR, sustainability, and environment reports from around the world.
- ReportingPartners Directory - A free directory covering thousands of CSR reporting service providers (e.g. consultants, designers, printers and verifiers). This service is designed to assist report developers in finding companies to work on their next CSR report. CSR News & Information - provides users with constantly updated, relevant information in a single location. Research & Publications - additional information from the CSR reports.
