To have the "Find it @ FSU" link on the Google Scholar results, change your Google Scholar setting.
Click on the three horizontal bars on the upper left hand > Settings> Library links> Type on Florida State University to the search box> select the FSU> Save.
When you see other links along with the "Find it@FSU" link for the same entry, always choose the Find it @ FSU link. This will help cite the sources correctly.
When there are too many results, or if you are interested in the recent works only, change the date range by clicking on the "Custom Range..." link. Enter the years, such as 2015 and 2021.
Develop a query that works
The order of search terms matters. Put the most important keyword in the query first.
Start nice and broad by entering the most important keywords, then exam the search results carefully. Add or revise the search terms as you go.
Use quotation marks for a phrase searching
"media addiction" "social media"
Use the Boolean Operator OR in uppercases to connect similar terms.
children OR youth OR pediatric OR kids
"young adults" OR teens OR adolescents
Use a parenthesis ( ) for nesting the similar terms
("digital addiction" OR "media addiction")
Use * to handle word variations
adolescent* will retrieve adolescent, adolescents
(teen* OR "young adults" OR adolescen* OR "Gen Z" OR "Generation Z")
Once the search results look relevant, drill down further by adding other keywords to the query
"social media" addiction
"social media" addiction (experiment OR hypothesis)
Click on the "Cited by" link to see other works that cited the source.
Higher numbers indicate the popularity of the source
If it is a relatively new publication, the "cited by" number might be lower.
Click on the "Related Studies" link or "Cited By" link to find similar studies
Databases
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 9,100 full-text periodicals, including nearly 7,900 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,690 journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. Updated daily.
APA PsycInfoThis link opens in a new windowBibliographic database of scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences APA PsycInfo covers journals, books, reviews, and dissertations.
Topics include:
Biological and Developmental Processes Behavioral Neuroscience Canadian Journal of Behavioural Science/Revue canadienne des sciences du comportement Developmental Psychology GeroPsych: The Journal of Gerontopsychology and Geriatric Psychiatry Journal of Comparative Psychology Journal of Experimental Psychology: Animal Learning and Cognition Journal of Psychophysiology Neuropsychology Psychology and Aging
Clinical Crisis: The Journal of Crisis Intervention and Suicide Prevention European Journal of Psychological Assessment International Journal of Play Therapy Journal of Abnormal Psychology Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology Journal of Counseling Psychology Journal of Latina/o Psychology Journal of Psychotherapy Integration Professional Psychology: Research and Practice Psychoanalytic Psychology Psychological Assessment Psychological Services Psychological Trauma: Theory, Research, Practice, and Policy Psychology of Violence Psychotherapy Rorschachiana Schizophrenia Bulletin Training and Education in Professional Psychology
Cognitive/Learning/Education Dreaming Journal of Educational Psychology Journal of Experimental Psychology: Applied Journal of Experimental Psychology: Human Perception and Performance Journal of Experimental Psychology: Learning, Memory, and Cognition Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in Psychology School Psychology Quarterly
Core American Psychologist Canadian Journal of Experimental Psychology/Revue canadienne de psychologie exprimentale Canadian Psychology/Psychologie canadienne History of Psychology Journal of Experimental Psychology: General Journal of Theoretical and Philosophical Psychology Methodology: European Journal of Research Methods for the Behavioral and Social Sciences Nordic Psychology Psychological Bulletin Psychological Methods Psychological Review Review of General Psychology Translational Issues in Psychological Science Zeitschrift fr Psychologie
Human Resources/Industrial/Organizational/Management Consulting Psychology Journal: Practice and Research Journal of Applied Psychology Journal of Diversity in Higher Education Journal of Neuroscience, Psychology, and Economics Journal of Occupational Health Psychology Journal of Personnel Psychology
Health Experimental and Clinical Psychopharmacology Families, Systems, & Health Health Psychology International Journal of Stress Management Psychology of Addictive Behaviors Rehabilitation Psychology
Social Psychology and Social Processes American Journal of Orthopsychiatry Asian American Journal of Psychology Cultural Diversity and Ethnic Minority Psychology Emotion Group Dynamics: Theory, Research, and Practice Journal of Family Psychology Journal of Latina/o Psychology Journal of Media Psychology: Theories, Methods, and Applications Journal of Personality and Social Psychology Motivation Science Psychology of Aesthetics, Creativity, and the Arts Psychology of Men & Masculinity Psychology of Religion and Spirituality Psychology, Public Policy, and Law Social Psychology
Abbreviation: psyapa Vendor: American Psychological Association Coverage: 1894-Current Subjects: Art Education, Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Medicine, Music Education, Psychology, Sociology, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Communication & Mass Media CompleteThis link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields. Content includes more than 440 full-text journals, Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 670 journals, and 5,500 author profiles.
ERIC (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowERIC (ProQuest) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
Coverage includes: Adult, career and vocational education Counseling Elementary and early childhood education Education management Higher education Junior colleges Second-language learning Special education Teacher education Tests, measurement and evaluation
Abbreviation: ericcsa Vendor: ProQuest Coverage: 1966-Current Subjects: Art Education, Art Therapy, Education, Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Music Therapy, Rhetoric & Composition, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 1000 important social science journals
Abbreviation: sspc Vendor: ProQuest Coverage: 1871-Current Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Anthropology, Art, Art Education, Art Therapy, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Early Childhood Education, Economics, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Hospitality, Human Development & Family Science, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Public Safety and Security, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Teacher Education, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Tip:
Databases are a lot more powerful than Google Scholar for refining the search and retrieving peer-reviewed journal articles.
Use "Advanced Search"
Create a query using the tricks for advanced online searching described in the Google Scholar Search box.
On the results page's left panel, refine your search by source type (Scholarly Journals), date (2015-2021, for example), and peer-reviewed.
You can also sort the results by date so that the newest publication comes up first on the search results page.
For the assignment, copy the article title > go to Google Scholar > paste the article title> run the search. Then record the "cited by" number of the article.
