Research Guides: Business Data: Macroecoomic Stats

Foriegn Direct Investment

Databases

World Development Indicators (WDI) DataFinder
"The World Development Indicators (WDI) DataFinder is an app for accessing data on global development indicators from The World Bank Group. This multilingual app gives access to national, regional and global estimates, compiled from officially recognized international sources, on topics such as: World View, People, Environment, Economy, States and Markets, and Global Links. Features include quick access to selected subsets of major indicators, with the ability to view tables, charts and maps and share them through email and social media." iOS and Android. **FREE**

OECD This link opens in a new window
Formerly OECD iLibrary, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development provides access to publications (reports, research papers, policy papers, briefs, and datasets) and is a knowledge hub for regional and global engagement and best practices in public policy.
Tutorials:
User Guide

Subjects include:
Agriculture and Food
Development
Economics
Education
Employment
Energy
Environment
Finance and Investment
Governance
Industry and Services
Nuclear Energy
Science and Technology
Social Issues/Migration/Health
Taxation
Trade
Transport
Urban, Rural and Regional Development

Abbreviation: sourceoecd
Vendor: OECD
Subjects: Anthropology, Art, Business, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Geography, Higher Education, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Music Education, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sociocultural and International Education, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
IMF eLibrary This link opens in a new window
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and so much more.
Note: On January 1, 2020, the IMF made the eLibrary platform free to all users. Some features of the IMF sites require users to create a personal account.

RSS Feed:
RSS List

Tutorials:
eLibrary Startup Guide
IMF eLibrary User Tutorial (10:07)
Frequently Asked Questions

Abbreviation: imf
Vendor: IMF
Subjects: Finance
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Open Access

Trade & Direct Investment Internet Sites

Foreign Direct Investment Database
The Foreign Direct Investment online database provides inflow and outflow aggregate data for over 190 different economies. Tracks the inward and outward movement of stocks of foreign direct investment.
Investing Across Borders
World Bank Group
Investing Across Borders is a World Bank Group initiative comparing regulation of foreign direct investment around the world. It presents quantitative indicators on economies' laws, regulations, and practices affecting how foreign companies invest across sectors, start businesses, access industrial land, and arbitrate commercial disputes.
UNCTAD Trade and Development Report
The report analyses trends and outlooks for the world economy and focuses on export dynamism and industrialization in developing countries. The annexes include plenty of data on sector-level trade amongst countries and trade blocs.
UNCTAD-TRAINS
(TRade Analysis and INformation System) is a comprehensive computerized information system at the HS-based tariff line level covering tariff, para-tariff and non-tariff measures as well as import flows by origin for more than 100 countries.
UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics
A detailed online database presenting a comprehensive selection of UNCTAD originated data including Value, shares and growth of trade, trade and commodity price indices, import and export trade structures and concentrations, balance of payments, FDI inflows and outflows, debt indicators, and select development indicators.
WTO Statistics Database
WTO – International Trade Statistics
The report analyses trends and outlooks for the world economy and focuses on export dynamism and industrialization in developing countries. The annexes include plenty of data on sector-level trade amongst countries and trade blocs.
International Trade Centre (ITC) Aggregate Trade Statistics
Using data from COMTRADE database of the UN, ITC provides import and export statistics by country and product group. In addition, ITC provides its own analysis of this data through its National Trade Performance Ratings for each country.
OECD International Trade Statistics
Provides access to spreadsheets for a number of select OECD datasets. The remaining datasets can be found either in print or by subscription.
US State Exports to Countries and Regions
State level export data, based on the U.S. Census Bureau's Exporter Location (EL) series. There are features that allow you to download the data, or to rank order it, to analyze it, or even to create color-coded maps.
US Census Bureau Foreign Trade Division
The official source for international trade data for U.S, both current and historical. Includes tables for U.S.’s top trading partners.
Inter American Development Bank Statistic Data
Provided by the Inter American Development Bank, DataIntal is a system of trade statistical information on imports and exports from 29 countries of the Americas by country of origin and destination, volume and value according to the tariff nomenclature of each country.
BEA International Accounts Data
U.S. government agency provides the most up-to-date data on balance of payments, exports/imports, investment position, and direct investment activities. Several of these are available in time-series format, quarterly or annually.
World Trade Annual
Published by the UN to provide summarized as well as detailed trade statistics by commodity by trading partner, based on data provided by 23 countries.
International Direct Investment Statistics Yearbook
Annual OECD publication provides direct investment figures.
World Investment Report
Annual publication offers a comprehensive analysis of international investment issues including interrelationships between transnational corporations, market structures, and competition policy, and the liberalization of foreign direct investment regimes. Each annual issue looks at another aspect of international investment issues.
(print) STROZIER, Documents General Collection -- UNST CTC WIR
World Investment Directory
This six-volume directory presents country-specific statistical data on foreign direct investment (FDI) and transnational corporations around the world. It also features information on the national and international legal frameworks governing inward and outward FDI, an analytical overview and relevant bibliographic references. It is published every 3-4 years.
(print) STROZIER, Documents General Collection -- UNST CTC WI