Find business, company and financial reports, plus investment, stock and mutual fund research. Provides financial content for public companies globally as well as hard-to-find private company information. Contains Company Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Funds Reports, Stock Screener, Corporations, Executives and Directors Screener, Mutual Fund Screener, Corporate Bond Screener, and Compustat Excel Analytics.
Bloomberg integrates information, analytics, research and pricing for several market sectors, while providing business news and and articles. Access is limited to Department of Finance students.
Center for Research in Security Prices, LLC (CRSP) maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ stock markets. Additional CRSP files provide stock indices, beta-based and cap-based portfolios, treasury bond and risk-free rates, mutual funds, and real estate data. FSU gets Annual Stock/Security Files/Events/10-Year Events/Tools; Quarterly Inde History-Intraday
TRACE consolidates transaction data for all eligible corporate bonds - investment grade, high yield and convertible debt. As a result, individual investors and market professionals can access information on 100 percent of OTC activity representing over 99 percent of total U.S. corporate bond market activity in over 30,000 securities.
Bloomberg integrates information, analytics, research and pricing for several market sectors, while providing business news and and articles. Access is limited to Department of Finance students.
The downloadable files include the Summary page, the STRIPS information, and the Monthly Statement of the Public Debt (MSPD) in its entirety. Data is available on the fourth business day of each month. Available back data from 1869-1952 and 1953-present on the website.
Center for Research in Security Prices maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq stock markets. Additional CRSP files provide stock indices, beta- and cap-based portfolio, treasury bond and risk-free rates, and mutual fund databases. 1925 to date.
Access is allowed to the following only:
1. Faculty accounts are available to all standing faculty of the FSU College of Business.
2. Staff (IT/Librarian) accounts are provided for full-time support personnel of member institutions.
3. Visiting Faculty accounts apply to visiting faculty (non-permanent or part-time position). These accounts are subject to additional review and may not be used after the visiting appointment ends.
4. Ph.D. accounts are available to all currently registered Ph.D. candidates of the FSU College of Business.
5. Masters Student accounts are available to full-time masters students. These accounts allow unlimited access via the WRDS website. These accounts do not include disk storage. Please note: Masters accounts will not have access to WRDS during summer break.
6. Research Assistants (supervised students only) accounts apply to students doing active research under faculty supervision. These accounts require a faculty sponsor.
7. Class (Faculty Requestor Only) accounts can only be requested by standing faculty of the FSU College of Business and provide a means for Undergraduate and MBA students to use WRDS as part of a registered class or course project.
Datastream via COB Lab (limited access)
International financial and economic information on equities, bonds, market indices, exchange rates, interest rates, and derivatives.
(1886 - Present) Business Source Complete,This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content.
Bloomberg integrates information, analytics, research and pricing for several market sectors, while providing business news and and articles. Access is limited to Department of Finance students.
Print Resources
Commodity Prices
A print sourcebook and index providing references to wholesale, retail, and other quotations for more than 10,000 agricultural, commercial, industrial, and consumer products.
Reference HF1040 .C65 1991
Explains and details the manufacturing process of a wide variety of products, from daily household items to complicated electronic equipment and heavy machinery.
World Trade Analyzer (WTA) is a trade database that allows you to access data for 600 commodity groups for 192 countries for up to 18 years (1985-2002). It is created from data reported by member countries to the United Nations Statistical Office, later compiled by Statistics Canada.
A collection of monthly commodities prices and indices from 1960 to present, updated each month, as presented in the Commodity Price Data (a.k.a. Pink Sheet), published continuously for more than half a century.
The Medieval and Early Modern Data Bank is a project established at Rutgers University and originally cosponsored by the Research Libraries Group (RLG), Inc. Its aim is to provide scholars with an expanding library of information in electronic format on the medieval and early modern periods of European history, circa 800-1815 C.E. MEMDB contains five large data sets, three pertaining to currency exchanges and two pertaining to prices.
Find business, company and financial reports, plus investment, stock and mutual fund research. Provides financial content for public companies globally as well as hard-to-find private company information. Contains Company Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Funds Reports, Stock Screener, Corporations, Executives and Directors Screener, Mutual Fund Screener, Corporate Bond Screener, and Compustat Excel Analytics.
Mergent Online provides U.S. company data as well as international company data including U.S. company data for over 15,000 public companies and their SEC filings, U.S. annual reports, international company data for approximately 17,000 companies, international annual reports, FactSheets, and country information. Records may be retrieved by company name, product or service category, or tradename.
Electronic access (PDF) to all back editions of the Moody's/Mergent manuals from 1909 to present: Access to early company financial and corporate data.
* Transportation Manual-1909-Present
* Public Utility Manual-1914-Present
* Municipal & Government Manuals-1918-Present
* Industrial Manual-1920-Present
* Bank and Finance Manual-1928-Present
* OTC Industrial Manual-1970-Present
* International Manual-1981-Present
COMPUSTAT (from Standard & Poor's) provides more than 300 annual and 100 quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items on more than 24,000 publicly held companies. The COMPUSTAT databases available through FSU's WRDS subscription include Full Coverage, Bank; Back Data, Global Vantage; and EXECUCOMP.
Access is allowed to the following only:
1. Faculty accounts are available to all standing faculty of the FSU College of Business.
2. Staff (IT/Librarian) accounts are provided for full-time support personnel of member institutions.
3. Visiting Faculty accounts apply to visiting faculty (non-permanent or part-time position). These accounts are subject to additional review and may not be used after the visiting appointment ends.
4. Ph.D. accounts are available to all currently registered Ph.D. candidates of the FSU College of Business.
5. Masters Student accounts are available to full-time masters students. These accounts allow unlimited access via the WRDS website. These accounts do not include disk storage. Please note: Masters accounts will not have access to WRDS during summer break.
6. Research Assistants (supervised students only) accounts apply to students doing active research under faculty supervision. These accounts require a faculty sponsor.
7. Class (Faculty Requestor Only) accounts can only be requested by standing faculty of the FSU College of Business and provide a means for Undergraduate and MBA students to use WRDS as part of a registered class or course project.
SNL Financial - Financial Institutions via COB Lab (limited access)
SNL Financial is the premier multisector-focused information and research firm in the financial information marketplace. SNL Financial collects, standardizes and disseminates all relevant corporate, financial, market and M&A data plus news and analysis for the following industries: banking, specialized financial services, insurance, real estate, energy and media/communications.
Contains financial data and history of all entities filing the Report Of Condition and Income (Call Report) and some savings institutions filing the OTS Thrift Financial Report (TFR). These entities include Commercial banks, savings banks, or savings and loans. FDIC files include structure data, financial time series data, complex derived integers data, ratio data, and merger history data.
Access is allowed to the following only:
1. Faculty accounts are available to all standing faculty of the FSU College of Business.
2. Staff (IT/Librarian) accounts are provided for full-time support personnel of member institutions.
3. Visiting Faculty accounts apply to visiting faculty (non-permanent or part-time position). These accounts are subject to additional review and may not be used after the visiting appointment ends.
4. Ph.D. accounts are available to all currently registered Ph.D. candidates of the FSU College of Business.
5. Masters Student accounts are available to full-time masters students. These accounts allow unlimited access via the WRDS website. These accounts do not include disk storage. Please note: Masters accounts will not have access to WRDS during summer break.
6. Research Assistants (supervised students only) accounts apply to students doing active research under faculty supervision. These accounts require a faculty sponsor.
7. Class (Faculty Requestor Only) accounts can only be requested by standing faculty of the FSU College of Business and provide a means for Undergraduate and MBA students to use WRDS as part of a registered class or course project.
Leon County Library Library. Value Line Investment Center provides analysis of 1,700 of the most actively traded U.S. exchange-listed stocks is a comprehensive and multifaceted investment management solution used to formulate sound investment strategies and identify timely opportunities. All Leon County residents including FSU and TCC students can obtain a library card and access. Use your local library card number to login.
Leon County Library Library. Comprehensive coverage of stocks, mutual funds, and ETFs. Includes analysts’ reports and recommendations, industry indexes and statistics, portfolio analysis tools, and investor education. All Leon County residents including FSU and TCC students can obtain a library card and access. Use your local library card number to login.
Investment Statistics Locator provides locations for statistics on investments, business, and economics by subject. The book indexes 53 widely available reference sources reporting economic and investment data.
In Print FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Reference HG4910 .B46 1995
Guide to abbreviations and ticker symbols of common stock.
In Print HG4636 .J37 1989
Datasets
NYSE TAQ database (1993-2000)
Contains intraday trades and quotes for securities listed on the NYSE, ASE, and Nasdaq NMS and SmallCap issues. Available on CD-ROM:
FSU STROZIER, Documents CD-ROMs Ground Floor HG4501 .N97 1993-2000
COMPUSTAT (from Standard & Poor's) provides more than 300 annual and 100 quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items on more than 24,000 publicly held companies. The COMPUSTAT databases available through FSU's WRDS subscription include Full Coverage, Bank; Back Data, Global Vantage; and EXECUCOMP.
Center for Research in Security Prices maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq stock markets. Additional CRSP files provide stock indices, beta- and cap-based portfolio, treasury bond and risk-free rates, and mutual fund databases. 1925 to date.
Short Sales
NYSE short sales for the period January 2005 - July 6, 2007 are available through WRDS. (Requires user to validate through password.)
NASDAQ short sales for the period January 2005-July 2007 are available through NASDAQTrader.
NYSE short sales for the period June 2012+ available through FINRA.
College of Business Resources
Bloomberg
Bloomberg (see Finance Dept) -Bloomberg also has credit default swap data. Type CDSD and hit [GO]. Access is limited to Department of Finance students.
Bloomberg integrates information, analytics, research and pricing for several market sectors, while providing business news and and articles. Access is limited to Department of Finance students.
Contains global time series data from corporate, government, and intergovernmental sources covering financial data, including markets, valuation, securities, constituent lists, sector indices, exchange-trade derivatives, fixed income, and more. FSU subscription includes equities, commodities, futures, and economics data.
Manual: https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/pages/support/manuals-and-overviews/thomson-reuters/datastream/
Find business, company and financial reports, plus investment, stock and mutual fund research. Provides financial content for public companies globally as well as hard-to-find private company information. Contains Company Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Funds Reports, Stock Screener, Corporations, Executives and Directors Screener, Mutual Fund Screener, Corporate Bond Screener, and Compustat Excel Analytics.
Bloomberg integrates information, analytics, research and pricing for several market sectors, while providing business news and and articles. Access is limited to Department of Finance students.
contains up to date as well as historical (though generally not before 1989) international data on mutual funds (open-ended and closed-ended). Frequency varies but is typically daily for financial information and in some cases intradaily. Intradaily data is typically kept from 30 to 90 days only.
Leon County Library Library. Value Line Investment Research provides analysis of 1,700 of the most actively traded U.S. exchange-listed stocks is a comprehensive and multifaceted investment management solution used to formulate sound investment strategies and identify timely opportunities. All Leon County residents including FSU and TCC students can obtain a library card and access. Use your local library card number to login.
Leon County Library Library. Comprehensive coverage of stocks, mutual funds, and ETFs. Includes analysts’ reports and recommendations, industry indexes and statistics, portfolio analysis tools, and investor education. All Leon County residents including FSU and TCC students can obtain a library card and access. Use your local library card number to login.
The Securities Class Action Clearinghouse (SCAC) provides detailed information relating to the prosecution, defense, and settlement of federal class action securities fraud litigation.
The SCAC team maintains a filings' database of 6,322 securities class action lawsuits filed since passage of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. The database also contains copies of complaints, briefs, dispositive orders, and other litigation-related materials filed in these cases.
The SCAC offers regular email notifications of new securities class action filings and news. Institutional investors with more than $1.5 trillion in assets under management are registered with the SCAC to receive automatic notices of litigation developments that may affect investments in their portfolios. Hundreds of attorneys, executives, scholars, and media personnel have also registered with the SCAC. If you would like to receive email notifications, please sign-up: https://securities.stanford.edu/sign-up.html.
Stanford Securities Litigation Analytics tracks and collects data on private, shareholder securities litigation and public enforcements brought by the Securities Exchange Commission and the Department of Justice. The SLA dataset includes all traditional class actions, SEC actions and DOJ criminal actions filed since 2000. These cases allege material misstatements or omissions of material information that adversely affect the valuation of a publicly-traded company’s securities. Full-time SLA analysts gather nearly 2,000 data points for each case through sophisticated machine and human searches of various sources, including press releases, court filings, company financial statements and SEC enforcement releases. Examples of the data collected include plaintiffs, defendants, judges, mediators, plaintiff and defense firms, key litigation events, real-time case statuses, settlement timing, settlement dollar amounts and contributions by defendants and / or their insurers, attorneys’ fees and expenses, and imposed SEC / DOJ penalties.
