PESTLE Analysis

Economic factors a have direct impact on a company’s long-term prospects in a market. The economic environment may affect how a company prices their products or influence the supply and demand model. Environmental factors can include:

• Inflation rate
• Disposable income
• Unemployment rate
•  Interest rates
• Foreign exchange rates
• Economic growth patterns
• C.P.I. (Consumer Price Index), levels of disposable income
• Price fluctuations and availability of raw materials
• Credit costs

Business Source Complete

• Business Source Complete provides coverage in business disciplines including marketing, management, management information systems, production and operations management, accounting, finance and economics. It includes full text for more than 3600 journals, including 1900 peer-reviewed titles. Also included are full-text case studies, company and industry profiles, country reports, executive and analyst interviews, market research reports and SWOT analyses.
• Search tip: Look for the Browse menu on the right side of the page and select  [Country Reports]. Enter the name of a country in the All Countries search box. The results list may include:
  1. Country Reviews from CountryWatch (which include social and environmental overviews)
  2. Country Profiles from MarketLine (which include In-depth PESTLE Insights)
  3. Country Risk Reports from Business Monitor International (BMI). 

ABI/Inform Collection  

• This collection of full-text articles, dissertations, working papers, periodicals, country- and industry-focused reports, case studies, and market information is comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, Trade & Industry, and Dateline. It contains resources covering accounting, marketing, sports and business, and economics.

Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)

• Various statistical releases such as: foreign exchange rates, interest rates, commercial paper, banks, flow of funds, etc. Daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly and annual statistics both current and historical. Monetary policy and meeting transcripts and other publications.

Bureau of Labor Statistics

• Detailed releases of a wide variety of economic statistics including: Consumer Price Index (CPI), productivity, consumer spending, wages and earnings, employment/unemployement, inflation among others. They Publish the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE), a survey of American buying habits (spending, earnings, etc.) as well as The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) that measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities.

Conference Board  

• Provides a rich array of actionable, authoritative economic data on the business cycle, labor demand and trends, and several barometers of consumer and business confidence, including the widely quoted Consumer Confidence Index and the Leading Economic Indicators. Limited data.

OECD iLibrary  

• OECD iLibrary is the online library of the OECD, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Everything published by the OECD (books, journals, series, working papers, databases) is available online on OECD. OECD iLibrary also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF). OECD iLibrary presents all content so users can find - and cite - tables and databases as easily as articles or chapters in any available format: PDF, WEB, XLS, ActiveChart, DATA, ePUB, READ.