Technological factors may have a direct or an indirect influence on an industry. While some industries will be more affected by technology than others, innovations in technology may affect the market and consumer choices and buying power. Technological factors can include:
- Rate of Technological Change
- Spending on Research & Development
- Legislation regarding technology
- Automation
- Technological development & awareness
- Patents
- Licensing of technology by your company and using other licenses
- Communication infrastructure
- Is the industry/company a technological leader or follower?
- Social media usage and coverage. Is it positive or negative? Use in marketing and public relations.
- Information technology
- Research and Development
To find information on the technological factors, investigate the following resources.
Statista
- Statista is a portal for quantitative data, statistics and related information. Use the search box to find information of interest, or choose from dropdowns providing access to information about industries, digital markets, consumer markets, and topics such as media, business, and society. Statistics, charts and/or graphs may be downloaded in the following formats: Excel, PNG Graphics, PowerPoint and PDF.
- Search tip: Click on [Reports] in the top navigation bar, then select [Country Reports]. Search for a country or region. Results will usually include Country Reports and Dossiers.
eMarketer Pro
- Provides insights and trends related to digital marketing, media and commerce. Coverage by Geography: Asia-Pacific, Central & Eastern Europe, Latin America, Middle East & Africa, North America, Western Europe, Coverage by Industry: Automotive, Consumer Products, Financial Services, Media & Entertainment, Pharma & Healthcare, Retail, Travel.
Seeking Alpha
- Analysis, news, earnings call transcripts, investment ideas.
- Morningstar Investment Research Center
- If the company has a detailed analysis, information about technology usage and research and development are often mentioned.
NetAdvantage (S&P)
- From Standard & Poor's/CFRA, this database contains industry surveys, and other information for business research and analysis.
- Click on Research on the blue bar (on top), then choose Report Type, Industry Overview, Choose at least the last 6 months. There are 40 domestic and 12 international industries covered. Use of technology is usually covered in each industry overview.
BCC Research
- BCC Research is a market research and forecasting company providing industry reports for business categories such as biotech, chemicals, energy, engineering, environment, food and beverage, fuels cell and battery technologies healthcare, information technology, instrumentation and sensors, manufacturing, membrane and separation technology, nanotechnology, pharmaceuticals, plastics, safety and security, and semiconductor manufacturing.
Gartner Higher Education Reference
- A collection of analysis and advice about information technology (IT) including market research reports, news and briefs. Funded in part by the Student Technology Fee, Gartner is available to all current Florida State University students, faculty, and staff.
Business Source Complete
- Business Source Complete provides coverage in business disciplines including marketing, management, management information systems, production and operations management, accounting, finance, and economics. It includes full text for more than 3600 journals, including 1900 peer-reviewed titles. Also included are full-text case studies, company and industry profiles, country reports, executive and analyst interviews, market research reports and SWOT analyses.
- Search tip: Look for the Browse menu on the right side of the page and select [Country Reports]. Enter the name of a country in the All Countries search box. The results list may include:
- Country Reviews from CountryWatch (which include social and environmental overviews)
- Country Profiles from MarketLine (which include In-depth PESTLE Insights)
- Country Risk Reports from Business Monitor International (BMI).
Factiva
- Factiva.com, from Dow Jones, includes access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more. The broad range of content provides both local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events – especially with regard to research requiring current information on companies, industries, and financial markets.
10-K/EDGAR Database (Securities and Exchange Commission)
- Look at the Form 10-K, 10-Q for the company you are researching. Often spending on R&D and technology can be found in the MD&A (Management Discussion and Analysis) section or in the Financials section.
