Research Guides: ENT 5634: Systems Thinking: Sanitation & Water

Databases

PAIS Index
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index provides materials on public affairs from 1972 to date. Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. Contains a variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Subject coverage:
Administration of justice
Agriculture, forestry and fishing
Banking and finance
Business and service sector
Culture and religion
Economic conditions
Education
Energy resources and policy
Environment
Government
Health conditions
Human rights
International Relations
Labor conditions and policy
Law and ethics
Manufacturing and industry
Media and communications
Military and defense policy
Politics
Population and demographics
Science and technology
Social conditions
Trade
Transportation

Abbreviation: pais
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1972–Current
Subjects: International Affairs, Political Science, Urban and Regional Planning, Public Health, Asian Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP)
Full text of over 7,000 reports and other documents covering many environmental topics including solid waste disposal, water quality, and pesticide usage and disposal.
Abbreviation: natenviron
Vendor: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Coverage: 1941–Current
Subjects: Environmental Sciences, Statistics
Type: Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
Water Resources Abstracts
Water Resources Abstracts provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use, and management of water resources.
Subject coverage:
Groundwater
Lakes
Estuaries
Erosion and sedimentation
Water supply and conservation
Desalination
Water yield improvement
Water quantity management and control
Watershed protection
Water quality management
Water resources planning
Water law
Engineering works and hydraulics

Abbreviation: waterres
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1967–Current
Subjects: Earth Science, Environmental Sciences, *General Science, Oceanography
Type: Citation Management, Datasets / Statistics, Directories, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Government Publications, Indexes / Catalogs
Environmental Impact Statements: Digests
Extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts.
Coverage includes:
- Air transportation
- Defense programs
- Energy
- Hazardous substances
- Land use
- Parks, refuges and forests
- Research and development
- Roads and railroads
- Urban and social programs
- Water
Abbreviation: eis
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1985–Current
Subjects: Atmospheric Science, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Oceanography
Type: Government Publications, Indexes / Catalogs
PolicyMap
PolicyMap is a U.S. national data and mapping tool that combines a curated, comprehensive geographic data library with simple, robust mapping and analytics tools. Create compelling maps of up to five layers, export trend charts with key benchmarks, download data for use in other tools, generate on-the-fly reports, and upload your own data to view it with ours.
Note: create or sign in to your personal user account to access PolicyMap.
Abbreviation: pcmap
Vendor: PolicyMap
Subjects: Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Finance, Food, Geography, Law, Political Science, Public Health, Public Safety and Security, Social Work, Statistics, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps

NB: for PolicyMap look for Environment & Hazards, Disaster Risk, Energy data under the Quality of Life heading.