Research Guides: Art: Find Books and Dissertations

Find Books and Dissertations

e-Books Research Guide
The e-Books research guide is intended to help you understand the various e-Books platforms available at Florida State University. Platforms include Cambridge Core; Proquest Ebook Central (EBL)/ebrary/MyiLibrary; EBSCOhost eBook Collection; JSTOR Open Access eBooks; Oxford Scholarship Online/Reference/Handbooks; Taylor & Francis eBooks; Wiley Online Library

eBooks (Gale)
Gale eBooks includes access to encyclopedias, specialized reference sources, and general titles of all disciplines. Designed to enable users to easily cross-search all the content to pinpoint relevant material. Detailed subject indexing allows users to search content based on subject, title, document type, and more.
Abbreviation: gvrl
Vendor: Gale
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
HathiTrust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Note, you must use the instructions below to access Hathi Trust:

Go to the HathiTrust homepage.
Click on the yellow 'Log In' button.
Select FSU from the drop-down menu and click 'Continue.'
Enter your FSU ID and password and click 'Continue.'

FSU users have full-text access and downloading capabilities for those items in the public domain, including:

US federal government documents
Works published before 1923
Works still protected by copyright, but made available to HathiTrust with the permission of the copyright holder

See also: Research Guide: HathiTrust Digital Library

Abbreviation: hathi
Vendor: HathiTrust
Coverage: 1564–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

Hathi Trust Research Guide
For more information about how to use the Hathi Trust and features of FSU membership, see our research guide.
OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks
The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences.
OpenEdition Books
OpenEdition Books is a web platform for books in the humanities and social sciences. More than half of them are available in Open Access.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 42,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

Directory of Open Access Books
The Directory of Open Access Books is a project of the OAPEN Foundation. It aims to increase the discoverability of academic, peer-reviewed, open access books.
Getty Publications Virtual Library
Free digital back list titles from the Getty Publications Archives.
Getty Research Portal
Access digitized art history publications, rare books, and related literature.
Guggenheim Museum on the Internet Archive
The Guggenheim Museum in New York has just made more than 200 books about modern art available online. Not only can you read them online, but you can download them in PDF or ePub formats—for free—at the Internet Archive.
MetPublications
MetPublications is a portal to the Metropolitan Museum of Art's publishing program where you can search books, online publications, and Bulletins. Current book titles that are in-print may be previewed only and fully searched online. The full contents of almost all other book titles may be read online, searched, or downloaded as a PDF.
OER Commons
A curated collection of Visual and Performing Arts open access materials.
Project Gutenberg Art (Bookshelf)
This bookshelf presents a selection of art books and books about artists, including practical methods and specialties, as well as general works on art and art history, plus visitor guides to art expos, galleries, and museums.
Smarthistory
Smarthistory.org is a free and open, not-for-profit, art history textbook.

CRL - International Dissertation Catalog
FSU has free and unlimited use of CRL collections--including international dissertations. Simply request the one (or more) you need through InterLibrary Loan (see above).
DART Europe E-Theses Portal
"DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses. DART-Europe is endorsed by LIBER (Ligue des Bibliothèques Européennes de Recherche), and it is the European Working Group of the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)."
DASH @ Harvard University
A central, open-access repository of research by members of the Harvard community.

Dissertations & Theses (Global) (PQDT, ProQuest)
Also see: Theses and Dissertations at The Florida State University

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses covers every doctoral dissertation completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations. Titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital form full text.
You have access to:
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Business
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Health & Medicine
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: History
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Literature & Language
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Science & Technology
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Social Sciences
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: The Arts

Abbreviation: dissertations
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1637–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Dissertations / Theses

EBSCO Open Dissertations Project
OpenDissertations.org is a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs that brings an innovative approach to increasing traffic and discoverability of ETD research. OpenDissertations.org includes ETD metadata from the British Library’s EThOS Service, the University of Florida, the University of Michigan, Michigan State University and the University of Kentucky. More than 20 libraries are expected to participate in the initial product phase.
FSU Digital Repository
The FSU Digital Repository is designated to archive peer-reviewed, published journal articles (both pre- and post-print), other forms of peer-reviewed scholarship (multimedia, artistic), and theses and dissertations. Browse disciplines to find your topic.
Theses.fr
Index to all theses defended in France since 1985. It has both French and English interfaces and some theses are available full-text.

Can't find what you're looking for in our FSU Libraries catalog search? Try UBorrow and/or Interlibrary Loan:

UBorrow: UBorrow allows you to request materials directly from participating libraries within Florida’s state university and college systems. This unmediated borrowing service increases your access to the collections of the other universities and colleges in Florida and delivers more quickly than standard Interlibrary Loan. UBorrow is built into the OneSearch catalog - see the video for more on how to access it there!

You can also search and borrow from libraries nationwide using InterLibrary Loan (ILL). Request materials either directly in OneSearch or by locating your desired titles in the WorldCat catalog before manually filling out an ILL form:

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
The Interlibrary Loan service provides access to materials that are unavailable from FSU Libraries. For more information, visit Interlibrary Loan.
Vendor: OCLC
WorldCat.org
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information.
Abbreviation: wcorg
Vendor: OCLC
Subjects: Indexes & Catalogs
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

We deliver library materials for current FSU faculty members, staff, post-docs, and graduate assistants with appointments. Available items are delivered to department offices within 48 hours, and scanned articles and book chapters are delivered by email.

Register as a new user, place a request, or see the LEDS homepage for more information about this service.