Skip to main content

E-books

This research guide is intended to help you understand the various e-book platforms available at Florida State University.

Welcome to the new E-books LibGuide! Each of FSU's e-book platforms has its own page with screenshots to help you download chapters, save notes on the text, and much more.

Each platform page contains a short description of the platform, a visual guide to accessing the features of each platform, information on personal accounts and usage restrictions, and links to support material from the platform.

See below for current news and known issues.

Ebook Central Downtime Scheduled

Ebook Central will be down for maintenance twice during January 2019:

  • Sat., Jan. 5, from 12:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m.
  • Sat., Jan. 19, at 10:00 p.m. to Sun., Jan. 20, at 6:00 a.m.

Please note that Sat., Jan. 5, 2019, is the Saturday before the spring 2019 semester beings.

EBSCO's New Help Site: EBSCO Connect

EBSCO Connect is EBSCO's new support site, featuring FAQ, training videos, news, and more for all EBSCO products. Use it to find information and answer questions about EBSCO e-books, EBSCO databases, and EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS), the discovery layer behind OneSearch.

Safari Books Online Canceled

The Safari Books Online page is no longer available since access to the content on that platform ended with 2018.

Provide Feedback on ACM's New Site

ACM Digital Library is now providing a preview of their new site design. for some pages, a pop-up saying "Check out a preview of the Next DL" will indicate pages available to the public in the new platform's beta site. The beta site is also available here. Every page on the beta site has a Feedback button in the bottom left corner. 

EBSCO E-books Go Directly to Full Text

In OneSearch, links to e-books from the eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) database now link directly to full text. Clicking on the title in OneSearch will bring you to the page seen in the How to Use the E-book tutorial on the EBSCOhost page of this LibGuide.

New Taylor & Francis Help Site

Taylor & Francis launched a new eBook Help Center. Click on the links at the bottom of the Taylor & Francis page to see the new sites for librarians and researchers.

Increased Access on Ebook Central

Many of our titles on Ebook Central have had their user limits upgraded for free. Read the new Discovery & ER Newsletter for more information.

DRM-Free Coming to Ebook Central!

Ebook Central is rolling out a new feature where select titles will be DRM-free! Information about how to identify these titles is coming soon.

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Moving to Wiley Online Library

The Blackwell Reference Online platform is being shut down on July 25, 2018. As a result, the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology, FSU's sole resource on that platform, is migrating to the Wiley Online Library platform. After July 25, please change all links to the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology homepage to https://login.proxy.lib.fsu.edu/login?url=https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/book/10.1002/9781405165518 to ensure uninterrupted access.

Wiley Online Library is Moving!

The new Wiley Online Library site is live! Check out the Wiley Online Library page of this LibGuide to see the new site and all the features it offers.

The new platform is currently experiencing some technical difficulties. Currently, the site indicates full text access for all e-books; full text downloads are available only for titles purchased by FSU. Please be patient as we work to resolve this issue.

While links to the old Wiley Online Library site will continue to work through redirects, please update all of your links to Wiley Online Library content. More information about linking can be found here; the new URLs are available on the Libraries URL Crosswalk spreadsheet on the Wiley Online Library platform migration information page.

New Linking to Resources Page

The new guide to linking to resources is now available! Check it out to learn how to make sure saved links will always work.

Contact Us

Questions? Email us at lib-erm@fsu.edu. 

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706