Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

E-books

This research guide is intended to help you understand the various e-book platforms available at Florida State University.

e-Books @ FSU

This chart was the main component of the E-books LibGuide before it was overhauled in the fall of 2017. It has not been updated since that time and being retained for historical purposes. A new and improved version of this chart, providing an overview of all of FSU's e-book platforms, is coming soon.

The FSU Libraries subscribe to many e-book collections. Several of these collections offer titles available for temporary check-out or download, in addition to the ability to view them online. FSU Libraries purchase and subscribe e-books through a wide variety of vendors and each has their own user interface, download process, and set of rules. This guide will provide direction on how to use the various platforms.

Platform Login Requirements Number of Users Reading Time Content Format Print/Save/Download How-To Help

Business Expert Press

This concise, practical collection books focusing on applied business topics serves as a valuable resource for both students and professionals.

Create an account to download chapters and save titles and annotations to the bookshelf.

Unlimited

Unlimited

PDF

Print: A select number of pages can be printed using the print icon in the online reading view.

Save: Individual chapters can be downloaded as PDFs, but complete titles can only be added to the bookshelf. A select number of pages can also be copied. 

Ebrary LibGuide

Business Expert Press Economics Collection

This is a collection of 33 concise, practical, action-oriented books with a focus on economics for business students and practitioners.

Need an account to download and read offline

Unlimited

Unlimited

PDF

ePub

Print

Users are allowed to print chapters but only for some books.

Desktop Download

Users need to download Adobe Digital Editions to download ebooks

Mobile Download

Users need to download iGP Reader App to read ebook offline

iG Library User Guide

Cambridge Books Online

[Now a part of Cambridge Core]

Access an array titles from various subjects like astronomy to classical studies to medicine.

The ebooks FSU has access to the full text version are marked with a P  

 

You can create an account to save searches & bookmarks

Unlimited

Unlimited

PDF

Users can print by chapter or section

 

You can download PDF to Kindle, Google Drive, Dropbox

 

Use Cambridge Core FAQs for instructions

 

Cambridge Core User Guide

CRC ENGnetBase

Access 134 titles cover an array topics from AC Power Systems to Viscous Fluid Flow

Creating an account will allow you to save your searches, place books on your virtual bookshelf, and purchase content.

You need an account to access ebooks on your mobile device.

Unlimited

Unlimited

PDF

Download/Print – Yes PDFs by chapter

Mobile Use

CRCnetBASE Mobile App allows you to browse, search, & bookmark your ebooks.

You need to pair your mobile device.

CRCnetBase FAQ

Digitalia

This Spanish language collection includes both e-books and e-journals from academic and literary publishers in Spain and Latin America covering topics such as culinary arts, humanities, and medicine.

Create an account to save title lists and download e-books

Unlimited

Titles can be downloaded for 20 days at a time. Only five titles can be downloaded at a time.

PDF

Flash

ePub

Full Download: Downloading the complete title to a desktop or laptop requires Adobe Digital Editions; an Adobe ID is required to move the title between devices. For mobile devices, Bluefire Reader is required; it can be downloaded from the App Store or Google Play.

Digitalia FAQ

Ebook Central

ProQuest’s new e-book platform combines the titles previously found in Ebook Library (EBL) and ebrary. These e-books cover a wide range of subjects, such as art, business, education, health, and political science.

Create an account to save titles, bookmarks, highlights, and annotations to your bookshelf.

Varies; titles can have one user at a time, three users at a time, unlimited users, or non-linear usage (see “e-Book Terms” for details). The “Availability” section on the Detail Page contains the user access model.

The last field in the advanced search allows for a search of titles with “more than one” or “unlimited” users.

Titles can be downloaded for 21 days at a time.

PDF

ePub

Print/Chapter Download: The publisher sets a number of pages (typically 40%) which can be downloaded as a PDF. This limit, available on the Details Page and the Book Details pane of the online reading screen is shared by the “Chapter Download” and “Print” functions.

Copy: The publisher sets a number of pages which can be copied using the copy icon right above the reading pane. The limit is shown on the Details Page and the Book Details pane of the online reading screen.

Full Download: Downloading the complete title to a desktop or laptop requires Adobe Digital Editions; an Adobe ID is required to move the title between devices. For mobile devices, Bluefire Reader is required; it can be downloaded from the App Store or Google Play.

Ebook Central LibGuide

Ebook Central FAQ

EBSCOhost eBook Collection

A collection of over 40,000 published electronic books consisting of a broad range of reference, scholarly, popular and professional books.

You must create account to download ebook offline

Titles may be limited to one user at a time or multi-user.

Check the "Concurrent User Level"  by clicking an eBook title in your Result list, and going to the bottom of the Detail view.

FSU has access to some titles that are owned and some that are shared. Owned titles allow access to only FSU users. Shared titles allow FSU users and users at other institutions to have access. If there is 1 copy for that title available, then that 1 copy can be accessed by anyone at the other institutions.

Varies by title but if possible, users can check out the book for a selected period

ePub

PDF

Print & Save

Varies by title but no more than 100 pages.

If possible, users can print, save, & email by the # of pages.

Page limits are set by the publisher of each book; it varies.

Desktop Download

Users need to download Adobe Digital Editions to download ebooks

Mobile Download

Users need to download EBSCO eBooks mobile app. Users need to authorize the app using your Adobe ID and find your library.

EBSCO eBooks Support

Check Out/Download EBSCO eBooks

ElgarOnline

FSU’s Law Library provides access to a selection of Edward Elgar Publishing’s legal scholarship on the publisher’s own online platform.

Create an account to save titles, book lists, search results, and tags.

Unlimited

Unlimited

PDF

Print/Save: Use the icons above the top right corner of the title information box to print, save, cite, email, and share titles or chapters.

 

Download: Individual chapters can be downloaded as PDFs.

Elgar Help

HathiTrust

This partnership of libraries and research institutions provides digital preservation and access to texts and items of historical, cultural, or archival objects. The Digital Library contains digital copies of more than one-third of the volumes in the public domain.

1. Click on the yellow “Log In” button right of the search box.

2. Select FSU from the drop-down menu and click “Continue.”

3. Log in with your FSUID and password.

Unlimited

Unlimited

PDF

Print: PDFs of works in the public domain and available via Creative Commons can be downloaded using the links in the menu on the left.

Save: Users can create and share collections; more information on creating and managing collections can be found here.

HathiTrust LibGuide

HathiTrust Help

JSTOR eBooks

This platform hosts e-book chapters, journal articles, and primary sources together. Over 950 open access e-books are available, and all books are DRM-free.

Create an account to save chapters and citations. 

Unlimited

Unlimited

PDF

Download: Individual chapters can be downloaded as PDFs.

Save: Save chapters with the “Add to My Lists” link below the excerpt from the start of the chapter.

JSTOR Support

JSTOR LibGuides

Morgan & Claypool

FSU owns eleven titles in the Synthesis collection, which focuses on engineering and computer science. The full list of e-books available on this platform can be found in the “Purchased Titles” section below.

 

Create an account to save books.

Unlimited

Unlimited

PDF

Download: Downloading the complete title requires Adobe Acrobat Reader. The desktop version can be downloaded here; the app for mobile devices can be downloaded from the App Store or Google Play.

Morgan & Claypool Help

MyiLibrary

[Provided by ProQuest]

Access to over 4,000 titles covering all major disciplines and subjects

Need an account to download, use bookshelf to save titles, & annotate books

Titles may be limited to one user at a time or multi-user.

Varies by title but if possible, users can check out the book (Full Download) for up to 14 days. E-books are automatically returned at the end of their checkout period

PDF

No more than 10% of the book may be printed. You may print chapters, sections or pages. 

Desktop Download

Users need to download Adobe Digital Editions to download ebooks

Mobile Download

Users need to download Bluefire Reader to read ebook offline

MyiLibrary Help

Oxford Handbooks Online

The online home of the Oxford Handbooks series contains up-to-date scholarly articles in sixteen subject areas. FSU has subscriptions to the linguistics, literature, philosophy, and religion collections, but other handbooks are sometimes available through open access.

Create an account to save searches, books, and chapters.

Unlimited

Unlimited

PDF

Print: Print any available chapter with the printer icon below the header on the left.

Save: Save any available chapter with the save icon below the header on the left.

Oxford Handbooks FAQ

Oxford Reference Online

This digital collection of reference books from Oxford University Press spans 25 subject areas. The ORO Premium subscription provides access to books in multiple subject areas in addition to FSU’s purchased titles.

Create an account to save searches, books, and articles.

Unlimited

Unlimited

PDF

Print: Print any available article with the printer icon below the header on the left.

Save: Save any available article with the save icon below the header on the left.

Oxford Reference FAQ

Oxford Scholarship Online

This digital library contains many of the scholarly books by Oxford University Press. FSU has subscriptions to the linguistics, literature, philosophy, and religion collections, but the site also hosts some open access books.

Create an account to save searches, books, and notes.

Unlimited

Unlimited

PDF

Print: Print chapters from any available book with the printer icon below the header on the left.

Save: Save chapters from any available book with the save icon below the header on the left.

Oxford Scholarship FAQ

Safari Books Online Business Library

FSU has over 16,000 titles on this e-book platform focused on technology and business. Phones and tablets connected to FSU’s Wi-Fi can access a separate website specifically designed for mobile devices.

Create an account to save searches, titles, bookmarks, notes, and tags.

Unlimited

Unlimited

ePub

PDF

Print: Print individual pages using the printer icon in the upper left corner of the reading pane.

Email: Email the permalink for a page using the envelope icon in the upper left corner of the reading pane.

Safari FAQ

SAGE CQ Press

Resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, & data analysis for the social sciences

 

Unlimited

Unlimited

PDF

You can print chapter and encyclopedic entries

You can download chapter and encyclopedic entries

CQ Press LibGuide

Springer Journal & eBook Archives

Access Springer’s collection of scientific, technical, and medical publications.

To get full text access outside of your institution's IP range you will need a login account that has been associated to your institution.

Unlimited

Unlimited

ePub

PDF

HTML Full Text (Limited titles)

Mobile Use

SpringerLink App is available for both iPhone and Android

When accessing SpringerLink content on an iPad both the HTML and PDF versions will open up in the Safari browser.

To store PDFs on an iPad for offline reading, you will need to have an app installed that performs this function (such as Good Reader)

Springer Online Service

Taylor & Francis eBooks

This platform, run by major academic publisher Taylor & Francis, features e-books covering topics such as the humanities, social sciences, and medicine. All of the books on the platform are available DRM-free and thus have no access or use restrictions.

Create an account to save books and searches as well as create email alerts when new content meets saved search criteria.

Unlimited

Unlimited

PDF

Download: Downloading the complete title requires Adobe Acrobat Reader. The desktop version can be downloaded here; the app for mobile devices can be downloaded from the App Store or Google Play.

Save: Save books to an account’s digital bookshelf with the “Add to Shortlist” link below the cover image.

Print/Share: Print or share books with the share icon. Share Icon

Taylor & Francis ebooks Help and FAQs

Wiley Online Library

This platform, which hosts journals in addition to e-books, features email alerts to keep users up to date on the publications and topics of their choice in the physical sciences, social sciences, and humanities.

Create an account to save books, journal articles, and chapters as well as create and manage email alerts.

Unlimited

Unlimited

PDF

Print/Chapter Download: Each chapter and the entire book can be downloaded as a PDF from the book’s home page. To download a chapter, select the “PDF” link right below the name of the chapter; the link to download the entire book is on the right side of the table of contents header.

Save: Books can be saved to an account with the link under “Book Tools” in the upper left corner of the book’s home page. Individual chapters can be saved by selecting the box next to the chapter name in the table of contents on the book’s home page, then clicking “Save to My Profile” in the table of content’s header.

Wiley User Guide

 

 

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706