Research Guides: Iberian Studies: Finding Books, Dissertations, & Theses

Search the FSU Catalog

Books

UBorrow
Borrow books from any of the 11 state universities in Florida. It's faster than ILL and renewals can be requested. Start by searching the FSU catalog, then click on the blue UBorrow icon at the top of your search results. Select the book you want and click on the blue UBorrow link again to request it.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Request books and journal articles from libraries around the world. Use ILL to request materials not available at FSU.
WorldCat (OCLC)
WorldCat (OCLC) contains over 40 million citations to books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, musical scores, archival materials and much more, representing holdings of most libraries in North America and some in Europe.

Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 1,100 Oxford books in the areas of Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. Includes full text and abstracts.
Subjects with full text:
Philosophy
Law
Religion
Political Science
Economics and Finance
Psychology

Tutorials:
Take a Tour (PowerPoint, PDF, and video available)

Abbreviation: oso
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Cambridge Books Online This link opens in a new window
With online access to unique, indispensable and extensive scholarly content, Cambridge Books Online will offer all levels of user a new dimension of access and usability to support and enhance research. FSU does not have access to all titles. Full text noted by a green circle.
Abbreviation: cbookso
Vendor: Cambridge University Press
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections
eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's collection of over 30,000 recently published titles consisting of a broad range of reference, scholarly, popular and professional books. Compatible with all mobile devices, no separate app is required.
Tutorials:
Training Tutorials for EBSCO eBooks

Apps:
EBSCOhost Mobile Applications (website)
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)
Downloading EBSCO eBooks to Your Mobile Device (03:38)

Abbreviation: netlibrary
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections

Ebook Central (Proquest)
Ebook Central is a web-based ebook lending platform from ProQuest which is capable of delivering a rapidly expanding catalogue of ebooks to academic and research libraries.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust Digital Library contains millions of books digitized from library collections across the country. FSU users have access to many full text documents and can create new collections of material. To learn how to log into HathiTrust using Shibboleth see our guide to HathiTrust (http://guides.lib.fsu.edu/hathitrust).
Gutenberg-e
Award winning monographs from Columbia University Press, coordinated with the American Historical Association, afford emerging scholars new possibilities for online publications, weaving traditional narrative with digitized primary sources, including maps, photographs, and oral histories.

Digitalia This link opens in a new window
Digitalia is an online provider of Spanish language academic book and journal titles, with publications from Spain, Columbia, Chile, Argentina, Mexico, Peru, Dominican Republic, and more.
Abbreviation: digit
Vendor: Digitalia
Coverage: 1961-Current
Subjects: History, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Literature
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

The Library of Iberian Resources Online (LIBRO)
Joint project of the American Academy of Research Historians of Medieval Spain and the University of Central Arkansas. Aims to provide digital access to recent, but out-of-print university press monographs and some key texts and sources in translation.
Ibero-American Electronic Text Series
Project developed at the University of Wisconsin-Madison devoted to Latin American and Iberian works in the Humanities. Digitizes Latin American and Iberian texts from the Middle Ages to the present.

Additional Resources

The Ibero-Amerikanisces Institute is an interdisciplinary center for academic and cultural exchange between Germany and Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. It is home to the largest specialist library in Europe for the Ibero-American region.Its excellent website provides an online catalog and Virtual Library.

Revista de Libros
Una guía literaria de referencia en el panorama cultural español. Se trataba de transmitir, a través del comentario bibliográfico, opinión cultural de altura a un público muy formado.

A literary reference guide to Spanish culture. Intends to transmit, through bibliographic commentary, educated cultural opinion to a discerning readership.
Biblioteca Nacional de España
The European Library
Provides online access to the resources of the 48 national libraries of Europe in 35 languages. Resources can be both digital and bibliographical (books, posters, maps, sound recordings, videos, etc.).
Ibero-American Electronic Text Series
Project developed at the University of Wisconsin-Madison devoted to Latin American and Iberian works in the Humanities. Digitizes Latin American and Iberian texts from the Middle Ages to the present.
Biblioteca Virtual Cervantes
The Library of Iberian Resources Online (LIBRO)
Joint project of the American Academy of Research Historians of Medieval Spain and the University of Central Arkansas. Aims to provide digital access to recent, but out-of-print university press monographs and some key texts and sources in translation.
cibera
German collaborative project providing access to library catalogs, internet resource links, periodical databases; newspapers, and wikis with content for Latin America, Spain, and Portugal
Hispanic Culture Series: Books Before 1601
STROZIER Library -- Micromaterials -- Film 9710 - In-Library Use Only

See the Accompanying Guide:
STROZIER LIBRARY -- Micromaterials -- Micr Z 2682.G85 1993

Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations & Theses (Global) (PQDT, ProQuest)
Proquest Dissertations and Theses covers every doctoral dissertation completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations. Titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital form full-text.
CRL - International Dissertation Catalog
As a CRL member institution, FSU has free and unlimited use of CRL collections through interlibrary loan.
DART Europe E-Theses Portal
"DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses. DART-Europe is endorsed by LIBER (Ligue des Bibliothèques Européennes de Recherche), and it is the European Working Group of the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)."