Research Guides: Iberian Studies: Home

Welcome!

Iberian Studies is an interdisciplinary subject area which involves two main countries, Spain and Portugal, some autonomous territories such as the Basque Country, many languages and cultures (including Spanish, Portuguese, Galician, Basque, Catalan, Roma, African, and others) and many subject disciplines, including Anthropology, Art and Art History, History, Economics, Geography, International Affairs, Music, Political Science, Religion, and Sociology.

This research guide is intended for students and researchers in Iberian Studies of all levels. It lists general resources related to Iberian Studies, including books, journals, and online resources available at the FSU Libraries.

Key Resources

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Works of interest to scholars are included whether they are written for a scholarly or a more general audience, provided that the content or its treatment places them within the scope of the bibliography. Masters' theses, guides that are essentially plot summaries, and other apprentice or simplified works are excluded.
Abbreviation: mla
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1921-Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Literature, Middle Eastern Studies, Rhetoric & Composition, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Dialnet
Indexes primarily journals from Spain but is adding many from Latin America. Many citations link to article abstracts and/or the full texts of articles.
more...less...
Dialnet is based on a table of contents index maintained by the Universidad de La Rioja.

Digitalia This link opens in a new window
Digitalia is an online provider of Spanish language academic book and journal titles, with publications from Spain, Columbia, Chile, Argentina, Mexico, Peru, Dominican Republic, and more.
Abbreviation: digit
Vendor: Digitalia
Coverage: 1961-Current
Subjects: History, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Literature
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes journal articles covering countries other than the United States and Canada in the subject areas of history, the social sciences and humanities. The scope of coverage is World History (1450–present) and related areas including culture, diplomacy, economics, international relations and politics.
Abbreviation: hist-abs
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1964-Current
Subjects: Asian Studies, History, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Basque Database
Provides access to information about Basque topics written or produced after 1994. Core journals are indexed completely while other journal articles appear in the database when they fit the scope of the database. Formats included are articles, books, chapters of edited books, dissertations, and other publications. Also included are Basque-related videos and DVDs, musical recordings, maps, and other media. Created and maintained by the University of Nevada, Reno.

Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of 300).
Abbreviation: ftl-ind
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: Communication, Film Studies, Literature
Type: Indexes / Catalogs