Research Guides: Iberian Studies: Primary Sources

Documents and Texts

In addition to the sources below, please see also:

The "News" Box in the Articles Tab of this LibGuide, as well as the Newspapers LibGuide

The US State Department and Intelligence Agencies Reports Tab of the International Studies LibGuide. US and Foreign Government Departments and Agencies, including the US State Department, have produced rich documentation on other countries. Use the drop down menus to browse lists of collection by type (for example, Confidential US State Department Central Files). The International Studies LibGuide also lists many other important collections and portals to international documentation.

Jesus ALonso Regelado's fabulous Libguide on free Latin American and Iberian film available on the internet.

The National Security Archive, an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. It provides the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. FSU also subscribes to its database, the Digital National Security Archive.

Biblioteca Nacional de Portugal
The Biblioteca Nacional de Portugal's Biblioteca Nacional Digital
Biblioteca Nacional de España Digital Collections
Can be searched by keyword or browsed by collection
Biblioteca Valenciana Digital (Digital Valencian Library)
Provides access to publications held at the municipal library of Valencia, Spain. Works can be found through browsable lists or keyword searching. Includes the complete works of Gregorio Mayans, an Enlightenment-era scholar who lived from 1699 to 1781.
EuroDocs: Spain
EuroDocs: Portugal
Spain's Ministry of Culture's Directory to Digital Resources
PARES
Free access to digitized documents from Spanish Archives provided by the Spanish Ministry of Education, Culture, and Sports.
Archivo de Indias
This archive holds documentation for colonial Spanish institutions such as the Council of the Indies, Casa de Contratacion, and Consulates. This website provides access to digitized versions of many examples of such materials.
[Spain's] Archivo Nacional
Website provides access to much digitized documentation.
Red de Bibliotecas Municipales de San Sebastian
Provides links to digital libraries in the municipality of San Sebastian and trhoughout the Basque region.
Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Historica
Collaborative project between Spain's Ministry of Culture, "Autonomous Communities and other institutions of Memory" to preserve old newspapers.
Biblioteca Navarra Digital/[State of] Navarre Digital Library
Biblioteca Digital de Galicia/Digital Library of Galicia
Biblioteca Virtual Andalucia/Andalucian Virtual Library
The European Library
Provides online access to the resources of the 48 national libraries of Europe in 35 languages. Resources can be both digital and bibliographical (books, posters, maps, sound recordings, videos, etc.).
Links to Spanish Civil War Resources
An extensive page of links in many languages to Spanish Civil War Websites. Compiled by David Carrión (Instituto Cervantes, London) for the Advisory Council on Latin American and Iberian information Resources (ACLAIIR) in 2007.
The British Library's Online Sacred Texts' Exhibit
Exhibits many of the British Library's unsurpassed collection of sacred texts across all faiths dating from the first to the twentieth centuries.
Archivo biográfico de España, Portugal e Iberoamérica
Microfiche copy of a "compilation of 304 of the most important and representative Spanish and Portuguese biographical works published between the 17th and the beginning of the 20th century":
STROZIER LIBRARY -- Micromaterials -- Mif 1261
See also the guide:
STROZIER LIBRARY -- Micromaterials -- CT1344.A733 I53 1990-In-Library Use Only
Hispanic Culture Series: Books Before 1601
STROZIER Library -- Micromaterials -- Film 9710 - In-Library Use Only

See the Accompanying Guide:
STROZIER LIBRARY -- Micromaterials -- Micr Z 2682.G85 1993
Colonial Latin American Manuscripts and Transcripts in the Obadiah Rich Collection
Microfilm of manuscript copies of Spanish and Portuguese documents related to the discovery and conquest of America and Parts of Asia held at New York Public Library.
STROZIER LIBRARY -- Micromaterials -- Film 9174 - In-Library Use Only
See the Accompanying Guide:
STROZIER LIBRARY -- Micromaterials -- Micr Z 1601.C65 1986
General Correspondence of the Spanish Legation at Washington, 1801-1833
Microfilm of documentation housed in the Archivo Historica Nacional del Estado de España (in Madrid) which was produced by Spanish representatives in Washington, DC following the American Revolution and during the time that Latin American countries were becoming independent. It provides rich insight into this period of early nationhood for the US as well as many Latin American Countries.
STROZIER LIBRARY -- Micromaterials -- Film 9710 - In-Library Use Only
Spanish Civil War Collection
Microfilm copy of histories, memoirs, books, pamphlets, journals and newspapers collected by and the writings of Herbert Rutledge Southworth, an American journalist closely associated with the Spanish Republican Government both in Spain and in exile:
STROZIER LIBRARY -- Micromaterials -- Film 8908
See the accompanying Guide:
STROZIER LIBRARY -- Micr DP269.S635
For further information, click on the "i" icon.
more...less...
This collection includes:
Spanish socialist exile literature during the Franco regime microform : selected pamphlets. [1944?-1945]
STROZIER LIBRARY -- Micromaterials -- Film 8908 reel 38, item 1527
Confidential U.S. State Department central files, Spain, 1930-1939
Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Spain microform : foreign affairs, 1930-1939:
STROZIER LIBRARY -- Micromaterials -- Film 9105
See also the guide to the Microfilm:
STROZIER LIBRARY -- Micromaterials -- Micr DP 257 H92 1986
For more information about this collection, click on the "i" icon
more...less...
This is a microfilm copy of part of the U.S. Department of State’s "Central Files," on Internal and Foreign Affairs of other countries. The files are organized by the Department of State’s decimal subject classification system, and are therefore also referred to as the Decimal Files. They now make up record group 59 in the U.S. National Archives. The files are made up of instructions and correspondence received from and sent to U.S. diplomatic posts abroad. They provide significant information on political, military, social, and economic developments and include minutes, interviews, letters, and translations of foreign documents.
Spanish Women's Magazines Digital Collection
Selections from bibliophile Juan Perez de Guzman y Boza, the Duque de T' Serclaes’s collection, held at Archives and Special Collectsion at the University of Connecticut. These women’s magazines were written by men to appeal to a female elite audience.

Images

Biblioteca Nacional de España Digital Collections
Can be searched by keyword or browsed by collection
The European Library
Provides online access to the resources of the 48 national libraries of Europe in 35 languages. Resources can be both digital and bibliographical (books, posters, maps, sound recordings, videos, etc.).
Links to Spanish Civil War Resources
An extensive page of links in many languages to Spanish Civil War Websites. Compiled by David Carrión (Instituto Cervantes, London) for the Advisory Council on Latin American and Iberian information Resources (ACLAIIR) in 2007.
Map Collection at the University of Texas Austin's Perry-Castaneda Library
Spain's Ministry of Culture's Directory of Digital Resources
Euskomedia
Multi-media materials on the Basque Country.

Maps

Biblioteca Nacional de España Digital Collections
Can be searched by keyword or browsed by collection
The European Library
Provides online access to the resources of the 48 national libraries of Europe in 35 languages. Resources can be both digital and bibliographical (books, posters, maps, sound recordings, videos, etc.).