Research Guides: Special Education: Finding Articles

Ask a Librarian

Databases

Search these databases to find journal articles on education topics. From an off-campus location, log in using your FSU ID and password.

To find the full text of the article, click on a link to the full text or the "Find it @ FSU" button in the database. Many journals are available online, but some are in the Libraries' print collection. Articles from journals not available at FSU may be requested through interlibrary loan.

ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (ProQuest) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
Coverage includes:
Adult, career and vocational education
Counseling
Elementary and early childhood education
Education management
Higher education
Junior colleges
Second-language learning
Special education
Teacher education
Tests, measurement and evaluation

Abbreviation: ericcsa
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1966–Current
Subjects: Art Education, Art Therapy, Education, Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Music Therapy, Rhetoric & Composition, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Education Source This link opens in a new window
The world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals, this database provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Abbreviation: ees
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
APA PsycInfo (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Online version of Psychological Abstracts, 1887 to present. Covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations, in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Subject coverage:
Applied psychology
Communication systems
Developmental psychology
Educational psychology
Experimental human and animal psychology
Personality
Psychological and physical disorders
Physiological psychology and neuroscience
Professional personnel and issues
Psychometrics and statistics
Social psychology
Social processes and issues
Sports psychology and leisure
Treatment and prevention

Abbreviation: psycinfo
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1887–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Art Therapy, Communication, Communication Disorders, Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Hospitality, Human Development & Family Science, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Medicine, Music Education, Music Therapy, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources. PubMed links to full-text articles to which FSU has a subscription.
Subjects:
clinical medicine
dentistry
education
experimental medicine
health services administration
nursing
nutrition
pathology
psychiatry
toxicology
veterinary medicine

Tutorials:
User Guide

Abbreviation: medline-pm
Vendor: National Library of Medicine
Coverage: 1965–Current
Subjects: Communication Disorders, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) Ultimate provides full-text access to nursing and allied health journals and covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, and nursing instructional videos. PICO (Patient, Population, or Problem; Intervention; Comparison; Outcome) searching is supported.
Tutorials:
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial (Video)
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial (Video)
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)
Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (Video)
Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (PowerPoint)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Pocket Guide (PDF)
CINAHL User Guide (doc, 40 pages)
Using PICO Search in CINAHL Ultimate

Phone Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Abbreviation: cinahlft
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1937–Current
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Education Full Text is a research database for education students, professionals and policymakers. It includes full-text education journals that cover the essentials of education and related fields of study, including in-depth coverage of special education.
Abbreviation: eduidx
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1969–Current
Subjects: Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator—from the schoolteacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Educator's Reference Complete is the perfect complement for any library that utilizes the ERIC database, because it provides full-text results for nearly half of the journal titles found in ERIC. This database covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty.
Abbreviation: erc
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1932–Current
Subjects: Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Rhetoric & Composition, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

Articles

Articles are excellent for finding:

evidence-based research
literature reviews or sources to write a literature review
critical analyses of research, literature or major issues
scholarly perspectives about issues on a specific topic or subject
information on current events
opinion pieces

Search Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar for scholarly articles. If the full text of an article is not available on the Web, check the journals listing to see if it's available at FSU.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) This link opens in a new window
The Interlibrary Loan service provides access to materials that are unavailable from FSU Libraries. For more information, visit Interlibrary Loan.
Vendor: OCLC