Research Guides: Physics & Astronomy: Start Your Research HERE

Video help for finding information

FSU Libraries YouTube channel

Databases for Physics

American Institute of Physics (AIP) This link opens in a new window
The American Institute of Physics (AIP) is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit membership corporation created for the purpose of promoting the advancement and diffusion of the knowledge of physics and its application to human welfare. It is the mission of the Institute to serve the sciences of physics and astronomy by serving its member societies, by serving individual scientists, and by serving students and the general public. As a "society of societies," AIP supports ten Member Societies and provides a spectrum of services and programs devoted to advancing the science and profession of physics. A pioneer in digital publishing, AIP is also one of the world's largest publishers of physics journals and produces the publications of more than 25 scientific and engineering societies through its New York-based publishing division.
Abbreviation: aip
Vendor: AIP Publishing
Coverage: 1930–Current
Subjects: Physics
Type: E-Journal Collections, Proceedings
AIP Conference Proceedings This link opens in a new window
The series includes more than 100,000 papers published in 1,500 volumes. Each year, 100 new volumes (some 8,000 papers) are added every year to this popular collection. With a scope as broad as physics itself, AIP Conference Proceedings provides researchers and students with access to a substantial and diverse collection of papers that record the work presented at selected international scientific meetings. Published promptly after contributors present their findings, AIP Conference Proceedings offers the scientific community timely access to breakthrough results: providing a unique barometer of current research.
Register to create your user account to subscribe to alerts and the RSS feed

Abbreviation: aipcp
Vendor: AIP Publishing
Coverage: 1970–Current
Subjects: Physics
Type: Proceedings
American Physical Society (APS) Journals This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of journals published by the American Physical Society Journals (Physical Review Letters, Physical Review, and Reviews of Modern Physics) with an archive back to 1893. Reviews include Nuclear physics; Condensed matter and materials physics; Atomic, molecular, and optical physics; Statistical, nonlinear, and soft matter physics; Particles, fields, gravitation, and cosmology.
Subject Terms:
Acoustics
Astrophysics
Atomic and Molecular Physics
Biological Physics
Cosmology
Electronics
Fluid Dynamics
Geophysics
Interdisciplinary Physics
Magnetism
Materials Science
Mechanics
Metamaterials
Optics
Quantum Information
Quantum Physics

Abbreviation: apsj
Vendor: American Physical Society
Coverage: 1893–Current
Subjects: Physics
Type: E-Journal Collections
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
The electronic full-text version of approximately 650 traditional research journals published by Elsevier and Academic Press. These journals are primarily in the scientific, technical, and medical disciplines.
Domains:

Physical Sciences and Engineering

Chemical Engineering
Chemistry
Computer Science
Earth and Planetary Sciences
Energy
Engineering
Materials Science
Mathematics
Physics and Astronomy

Tutorials:
Online tutorials

Abbreviation: sciencedirect
Vendor: Elsevier
Coverage: 1997–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, *General Science, Anthropology, Atmospheric Science, Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Science, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Mathematics, Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Ocean Science, Physics, Public Health
Type: Citation Management, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections"

Open Access Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) indexes and provides access to a diverse collection of peer-reviewed open access scholarly research journals from around the world.
Abbreviation: doaj
Vendor: DOAJ
Coverage: 2003–Current
Type: Directories, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs, Open Access
arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
Started in August 1991, arXiv.org is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology and statistics. arXiv is maintained and operated by the Cornell University Library with guidance from the arXiv Scientific Advisory Board and the arXiv Member Advisory Board, and with the help of numerous subject moderators.
Abbreviation: arxiv
Vendor: Cornell University
Coverage: 1991–Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Computer Science, Finance, Mathematics, Physics, Statistics
Type: E-Journal Collections, Open Access

STEM Research & Learning Librarian

Renaine Julian

Email Me

Subjects: Mathematics, Publishing, Data Management and Digital Scholarship

Google Scholar

Google Scholar [see description for access instructions] This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar uses Google's search engine to provide a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Using the link within Google Scholar, you may also link to resources that FSU owns. For more information, visit our Google Scholar LibGuide.
To access FSU resources from Google Scholar, please follow these instructions:
- Go http://scholar.google.com
- Click on the hamburger menu on the upper left hand side and click on "Settings"
- Click on Library links
- Type Florida State University in the box that appears
- Click on the blue Search button
- Click in the check box next to "Florida State University- Find It @ FSU" (Not Cengage Gale Full Text)
- Click on Save
- Scholar should now recognize you as an FSU patron
Abbreviation: gsch
Vendor: Google
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs

Physics & Astronomy

Video help for finding information

Databases for Physics

Physical Sciences and Engineering

Open Access Journals

STEM Research & Learning Librarian

Google Scholar