Research Guides: Physics & Astronomy: Home

General Academic Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 9,100 full-text periodicals, including nearly 7,900 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,690 journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. Updated daily.
Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Abbreviation: ascomplete
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1987–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Hospitality
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Google Scholar [see description for access instructions] This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar uses Google's search engine to provide a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Using the link within Google Scholar, you may also link to resources that FSU owns. For more information, visit our Google Scholar LibGuide.
To access FSU resources from Google Scholar, please follow these instructions:
- Go http://scholar.google.com
- Click on the hamburger menu on the upper left hand side and click on "Settings"
- Click on Library links
- Type Florida State University in the box that appears
- Click on the blue Search button
- Click in the check box next to "Florida State University- Find It @ FSU" (Not Cengage Gale Full Text)
- Click on Save
- Scholar should now recognize you as an FSU patron
Abbreviation: gsch
Vendor: Google
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs

Welcome

Welcome to the Physics & Astronomy research guide. This guide was created to help you navigate the various STEM databases, journals, and articles provided by Florida State University (FSU) Libraries and beyond. If you have any questions or would like us to add something to this guide, your academic liaison is happy to help. Our main STEM Library location is Dirac Science Library. FSU's main library is the Robert M. Strozier Library.

Some Useful links:

Databases for Physics (best bets)

American Institute of Physics (AIP) This link opens in a new window
The American Institute of Physics (AIP) is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit membership corporation created for the purpose of promoting the advancement and diffusion of the knowledge of physics and its application to human welfare. It is the mission of the Institute to serve the sciences of physics and astronomy by serving its member societies, by serving individual scientists, and by serving students and the general public. As a "society of societies," AIP supports ten Member Societies and provides a spectrum of services and programs devoted to advancing the science and profession of physics. A pioneer in digital publishing, AIP is also one of the world's largest publishers of physics journals and produces the publications of more than 25 scientific and engineering societies through its New York-based publishing division.
Abbreviation: aip
Vendor: AIP Publishing
Coverage: 1930–Current
Subjects: Physics
Type: E-Journal Collections, Proceedings
inSPIRE High-Energy Physics (HEP) Literature Database This link opens in a new window
The inSPIRE-HEP database is a database of high energy physics, some astrophysics, accelerator physics, and particle and atomic physics literature. This bibliographic database contains links to more than 600,000 articles, pre-prints, technical reports, and conference proceedings.
Abbreviation: inspire
Vendor: United Nations
Subjects: Physics
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
American Physical Society (APS) Journals This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of journals published by the American Physical Society Journals (Physical Review Letters, Physical Review, and Reviews of Modern Physics) with an archive back to 1893. Reviews include Nuclear physics; Condensed matter and materials physics; Atomic, molecular, and optical physics; Statistical, nonlinear, and soft matter physics; Particles, fields, gravitation, and cosmology.
Subject Terms:
Acoustics
Astrophysics
Atomic and Molecular Physics
Biological Physics
Cosmology
Electronics
Fluid Dynamics
Geophysics
Interdisciplinary Physics
Magnetism
Materials Science
Mechanics
Metamaterials
Optics
Quantum Information
Quantum Physics

Abbreviation: apsj
Vendor: American Physical Society
Coverage: 1893–Current
Subjects: Physics
Type: E-Journal Collections

Academic Liaison

Renaine Julian

Email Me

Subjects: Mathematics, Publishing, Data Management and Digital Scholarship

Other useful guides

Citation Guide
by Liz Dunne Last Updated Nov 29, 2023 15170 views this year
E-books
by Elissa Reiskind Last Updated Mar 3, 2023 2469 views this year