Customers/Consumers Data - MAR3503 - Consumer Behavior - Research Guides at The Florida State University

Introduction

Search for consumer insights in:

Market research reports and analysis
Collated/compiled data reports
Government reports/Census
Survey data
Private industry surveys

Best Places to Start

Statistical Abstract of the United States
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.

Tutorials:
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. ProQuest LibGuide

Abbreviation: saus
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1973–Current
Subjects: Demography and Population Studies, Public Health, Statistics, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics
Mintel Academic

Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering U.S. and International marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market. Note: First-time users, create a Mintel profile with your @fsu.edu email address.

Industries covered include:
Automotive
Beauty
Consumer Electronics
Digital Media
Drink
Financial Services
Food
Foodservice
Health & Wellness
Household
Personal Care
Packaging
Retail
Sport & Entertainment Travel & Tourism

Tutorials:
Interactive Databook Training (10:39)
A 10-minute tutorial video on how to navigate Interactive Databook, how to explore demographics, and customize your own consumer data report.

Abbreviation: mintel
Vendor: Mintel International Group
Coverage: 2001–Current
Subjects: Business, Communication, Hospitality, Marketing
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Reports
RKMA Market Research Handbooks
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA), founded in 1972, publishes handbooks focused on marketing and the consumer marketplace.

Abbreviation: rkmabk
Vendor: Richard K. Miller & Associates
Subjects: Business, Communication, Hospitality, Management & Strategy, Marketing, Sport Management
Type: E-Book Collections
Statista
Statista is a leading provider of market and consumer data. Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.

Abbreviation: stati
Vendor: Statista
Subjects: Business, Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Hospitality, Marketing, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics

Market Research Reports

Mintel Academic

Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering U.S. and International marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market. Note: First-time users, create a Mintel profile with your @fsu.edu email address.

Industries covered include:
Automotive
Beauty
Consumer Electronics
Digital Media
Drink
Financial Services
Food
Foodservice
Health & Wellness
Household
Personal Care
Packaging
Retail
Sport & Entertainment Travel & Tourism

Tutorials:
Interactive Databook Training (10:39)
A 10-minute tutorial video on how to navigate Interactive Databook, how to explore demographics, and customize your own consumer data report.

Abbreviation: mintel
Vendor: Mintel International Group
Coverage: 2001–Current
Subjects: Business, Communication, Hospitality, Marketing
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Reports
Statista
Statista is a leading provider of market and consumer data. Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.

Abbreviation: stati
Vendor: Statista
Subjects: Business, Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Hospitality, Marketing, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics
RKMA Market Research Handbooks
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA), founded in 1972, publishes handbooks focused on marketing and the consumer marketplace.

Abbreviation: rkmabk
Vendor: Richard K. Miller & Associates
Subjects: Business, Communication, Hospitality, Management & Strategy, Marketing, Sport Management
Type: E-Book Collections
SMA: Sports Market Analytics

SMA: Sports Market Analytics combines market research from the largest single research supplier to the industry, the National Sporting Goods Association; the U.S. Department of Commerce; various sports governing bodies; and full-text articles from 14 magazines and newsletters published by VNU, the world's largest sporting goods trade publisher, and newsletters provided by leading independent industry experts. Subjects covered include sporting goods industry, sports sponsorship and marketing, broadcasting, facilities, broadcasting and new media.

Single sport/product search include:
Archery
Backpacking
Badminton
Baseball
Basketball
Bicycling
Billiards
Bowling
Cheerleading
Camping/Hiking Climbing
Equestrian
Exercise/Fitness
Eyewear
Fishing
Footwear
Football
Golf
Gymnastics
Hunting/Shooting
Ice Hockey
Inline Skating
Lacrosse
Martial Arts
Motorsports
Paintball
Rugby
Running/Jogging
Scooter Riding
Skateboarding
Skiing
Snowboarding
Soccer
Softball
Tennis
Volleyball
Water Sports (All)
Winter Sports (All)
Women's Total Market
Wrestling

Abbreviation: sbrnet
Vendor: SBRnet
Subjects: Business, Communication, Marketing, Sport Management, Sport Psychology, Statistics
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, E-Journal Collections, Government Publications
WGSN

WGSN (Worth Global Style Network) is the leading online trend-analysis and research service providing creative and business intelligence for the apparel, style, design and retail industries. Keywords: Trade Shows, Marketing, Retail, Celebrity, Buying, Visual, Merchandising, Business. Note: FSU has access to the Fashion Module. For help with your WGSN account, submit a request by sending an email to help@wgsn.comand include your name, your institutional email address, and the name of your institution.

Abbreviation: wgsntex
Vendor: WGSN
Subjects: Business, Interior Design, Marketing, Retail Entrepreneurship
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Images, Streaming Audio, Streaming Video

Psychographic Data

MRI Simmons Catalyst (20 concurrent user limit)

MRI Simmons Catalyst is a consumer intelligence and discovery platform that provides information on consumer behaviors, brand consumer messaging, cross-channel marketing, and media planning tactics.

Tutorials:
Introducing Simmons Insights (4:52)

Abbreviation: insi
Vendor: MRI Simmons
Subjects: Business, Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Marketing
Type: Datasets / Statistics

MRI-Simmons Catalyst (formerly MRI-Simmons Insights) provides access to consumer demographic, psychographic, brand preference, and media data from the MRI-Simmons USA Study and Simmons National Consumer Survey (NCS/NHCS). The surveys provide access to over 60,000 data elements:

Quick Reports:Quick Reports provide data visualization, highlighting a range of consumer insights for a chosen target.

Crosstabs: Create customized cross tabulations ("crosstabs") to analyze relationships between thousands of variables. Crosstabs can help you to get insights on a specific target or compare variables for multiple targets.

Government Data

US Census Data
Provides Access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island Areas. The data in the Census.gov site comes from several censuses and surveys conducted by the U.S. Census
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Provides extensive data on employment, spending, prices, and wages. The BLS's Consumer Expenditure Surveys offer data on the spending habits, income, and demographics of U.S. consumers.
Federal Reserve Board - Survey of Consumer Finances (SCF)
A triennial survey that collects data on U.S. household finances, including assets, liabilities, and income.
Consumer Expenditure Surveys
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), provides expenditure data organized by various demographic characteristics such as age, family size, race, income, etc. Data provided back to 1984.
American Time Use Survey
"The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing."
Census Survey Explorer
Discover which surveys meet your criteria or needs. Search by topic, geography, and frequency of publication.

Survey Data

The American Customer Satisfaction Index
produces indexes for 10 economic sectors, 44 industries (including e-commerce and e-business), and more than 200 companies and federal or local government agencies
Pew Internet & American Life Project
series of surveys examining use of the internet and new technologies
Reuters/University of Michigan Surveys of Consumer Sentiment
measures consumer confidence over time; includes time-series archive to 2000

Subject Guide

Trip Wyckoff

Email Me

Contact:

Room 0027N
Strozier Library
Basement

850-645-1475

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Data Analytics and Information Systems, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Insurance, Real Estate, Risk Management, Sports & Recreation Management