Product Level Data - MAR3503 - Consumer Behavior - Research Guides at The Florida State University

Introduction

Search for sales and product statistics in the following information sources:

Market Rresearch Reports
Analyst Rreports
Government Reports
Trade Organizations

Market Research Reports

Mintel Academic

Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering U.S. and International marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market. Note: First-time users, create a Mintel profile with your @fsu.edu email address.

Industries covered include:
Automotive
Beauty
Consumer Electronics
Digital Media
Drink
Financial Services
Food
Foodservice
Health & Wellness
Household
Personal Care
Packaging
Retail
Sport & Entertainment Travel & Tourism

Tutorials:
Interactive Databook Training (10:39)
A 10-minute tutorial video on how to navigate Interactive Databook, how to explore demographics, and customize your own consumer data report.

Abbreviation: mintel
Vendor: Mintel International Group
Coverage: 2001–Current
Subjects: Business, Communication, Hospitality, Marketing
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Reports
Statista
Statista is a leading provider of market and consumer data. Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.

Abbreviation: stati
Vendor: Statista
Subjects: Business, Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Hospitality, Marketing, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics
BCC Research
BCC Research is a market research and forecasting company providing industry reports for business categories such as biotech, chemicals, energy, engineering, environment, food and beverage, fuels cell and battery technologies healthcare, information technology, instrumentation and sensors, manufacturing, membrane and separation technology, nanotechnology, pharmaceuticals, plastics, safety and security, and semiconductor manufacturing. BCC publishes over 250 market research reports annually.

Tutorials:
BCC Research YouTube Channel

Abbreviation: bccr
Vendor: BCC Research LLC
Coverage: Current
Subjects: Environmental Sciences, Engineering, Marketing
Type: Datasets / Statistics
Gartner Higher Education Reference
Elevate your research with complimentary access to info about the latest technology trends. Gartner Higher Education Reference provides unlimited access to a knowledge base of IT research and technology news, products, and trends to support your research and business projects. Funded in part by the Student Technology Fee, Gartner is available to all current Florida State University students, faculty, and staff. With thousands of research articles on every aspect of information technology, the applications of Gartner research reach far beyond the technology field to practical uses in education, business management, healthcare, government, and more.

Abbreviation: gtnr
Vendor: Gartner
Subjects: Business, Information Technology, MIS: Management Information Systems
Type: Datasets / Statistics, E-Journal Collections, Testing / Tutorials
SMA: Sports Market Analytics

SMA: Sports Market Analytics combines market research from the largest single research supplier to the industry, the National Sporting Goods Association; the U.S. Department of Commerce; various sports governing bodies; and full-text articles from 14 magazines and newsletters published by VNU, the world's largest sporting goods trade publisher, and newsletters provided by leading independent industry experts. Subjects covered include sporting goods industry, sports sponsorship and marketing, broadcasting, facilities, broadcasting and new media.

Single sport/product search include:
Archery
Backpacking
Badminton
Baseball
Basketball
Bicycling
Billiards
Bowling
Cheerleading
Camping/Hiking Climbing
Equestrian
Exercise/Fitness
Eyewear
Fishing
Footwear
Football
Golf
Gymnastics
Hunting/Shooting
Ice Hockey
Inline Skating
Lacrosse
Martial Arts
Motorsports
Paintball
Rugby
Running/Jogging
Scooter Riding
Skateboarding
Skiing
Snowboarding
Soccer
Softball
Tennis
Volleyball
Water Sports (All)
Winter Sports (All)
Women's Total Market
Wrestling

Abbreviation: sbrnet
Vendor: SBRnet
Subjects: Business, Communication, Marketing, Sport Management, Sport Psychology, Statistics
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, E-Journal Collections, Government Publications
WGSN

WGSN (Worth Global Style Network) is the leading online trend-analysis and research service providing creative and business intelligence for the apparel, style, design and retail industries. Keywords: Trade Shows, Marketing, Retail, Celebrity, Buying, Visual, Merchandising, Business. Note: FSU has access to the Fashion Module. For help with your WGSN account, submit a request by sending an email to help@wgsn.comand include your name, your institutional email address, and the name of your institution.

Abbreviation: wgsntex
Vendor: WGSN
Subjects: Business, Interior Design, Marketing, Retail Entrepreneurship
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Images, Streaming Audio, Streaming Video

Analyst Reports

Savvy Researcher Hint: You can also contact an analyst or investment bank that covers the company or industry you are interested in. They will often share with you their most recent reports with you. Also check with a stock brokerage for access to brokerage and analyst reports. Several brkerages still provide free access to anaylsts reports.

Factiva (20 concurrent user limit)
Select Companies/Markets in the top navigation menu. Search for a company. In the Company Snapshot, select Analysis and Profiles (if available).

There is a 20 concurrent user limit.

Abbreviation: djfac
Vendor: Dow Jones & Company
Subjects: Business, Communication, Finance
Type: Newspapers and Newswires

Government Reports

Economic Census
data on sales and business statistics collected across broad sectors, updated with varying frequency; down to firm level in some cases, collected every 5 years)
Bureau of Economic Analysis
national and international data from the U.S. Department of Commerce including GDP by industry and international trade data
Bureau of Economic Analysis/Personal Income and Outlays
data on consumption across types of products, second section
Bureau of Labor Statistics: Consumer Expenditure Survey
data on consumer expenditures across major categories
Bureau of Labor Statistics: Consumer Price Index
Consumer Price Indexes (CPI) program produces monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services.
Bureau of Labor Statistics: Producer Price Index
Producer Price Index (PPI) program measures the average change over time in the selling prices received by domestic producers for their output.

Trade Associations

List of Trade Associations & Trade Shows
This list of trade associations and trade shows will help you choose your niche and find your target market so you can network with the right people.

Subject Guide

Trip Wyckoff

Email Me

Contact:

Room 0027N
Strozier Library
Basement

850-645-1475

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Data Analytics and Information Systems, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Insurance, Real Estate, Risk Management, Sports & Recreation Management