The first letters in a call numbers are associated with subject areas.
Philosophy, Psychology, and Religion
Auxiliary Sciences of History
General and Old World History
History of America
History of the United States and British, Dutch, French, and Latin America
Geography, Anthropology, and Recreation
Language and Literature
Bibliography, Library Science, and General Information Resources
Even in the Digital Age, books are still an important publication format in the humanities. In fact, journal articles may be the precursor to full-length books. Here are some tips on how to use books more effectively in your research:
Read the table of contents, introduction, and conclusion first. Academic works are not novels - you'll get more out of it if you know in advance the author's main points and conclusions.
Found a good book on your topic? Look at the titles near it on the shelf for related works.
Raid the bibliography of a good book for more sources, both primary and secondary. Ask a librarian if you need help locating a cited source.
by Miriam Sweeney, Assistant Professor in the School of Library and Information Studies at the University of Alabama.
"Following these tips should help you master your readings instead of allowing the readings to master you!"
Finding Books @ Other Libraries
Ready to expand your search beyond the shelves at FSU Libraries? Use the WorldCat database to search for books, audio, video, and other materials in libraries across the country and around the world. Then use UBorrow(if in the state of Florida) or Interlibrary Loan(everywhere else) to borrow items from other libraries!
Borrow books from any of the 11 state universities in Florida. It's faster than ILL and renewals can be requested easily. The following short tutorial will show you how!
WorldCat is a catalog of catalogs; it allows you to search nationwide and around the world to find materials held by other libraries. You can request print books, microfilm, and physical media like CDs and DVDs that you find in WorldCat using InterLibrary Loan.
Note that ebooks cannot be shared between libraries because of licensing restrictions, but you may be able to request a single chapter from an ebook, just like you can request a single article from an online journal.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses covers every doctoral dissertation completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations. Titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital form full-text.
You have access to:
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Business
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Health & Medicine
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: History
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Literature & Language
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Science & Technology
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Social Sciences
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: The Arts
DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses. DART-Europe is endorsed by LIBER (Ligue des Bibliothèques Européennes de Recherche), and it is the European Working Group of the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD).
With online access to unique, indispensable and extensive scholarly content, Cambridge Books Online will offer all levels of user a new dimension of access and usability to support and enhance research. FSU does not have access to all titles. Full text noted by a green circle.
HathiTrust Digital Library contains millions of books digitized from library collections across the country. FSU users have access to many full text documents and can create new collections of material. To learn how to log into HathiTrust using Shibboleth see our guide to HathiTrust (http://guides.lib.fsu.edu/hathitrust).