Research Guides: *Classics: Home

Looking for Citations?

Search for citations to important scholarship in Classics using the following specialized indexes.

Annee Philologique (L') This link opens in a new window
L'Annee Philologique is an index of publications related to the history, language, literature and civilization of ancient Greece and Rome. It includes periodical articles, articles in book collections, festschriften, dissertations, and conference papers.
Abbreviation: aphi
Vendor: Brepols Publishers
Coverage: 1924–Current
Subjects: Classics, History, Linguistics, Literature
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Nestor
Nestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields.
Published monthly during the academic year by the University of Cincinnati.
more...less...
The bibliographic entries from previous print editions of Nestor (1959-2017) are searchable from this website.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. FSU has access to JSTOR’s Archive, Artstor, Primary Sources, and Global Plants collections.
Tutorials:
JSTOR on YouTube
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665–Current
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

Handbooks, Bibliographies, and Reference

Some of the most used and most useful resources for classics research. Some resources will require an FSUID to access from off campus.

Brill's New Pauly
English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, considered the most complete and most authoritative modern encyclopedia of the ancient world currently available. In nearly 20,000 entries it covers two thousand years of history and culture of Greco-Roman Antiquity and the reception of this in the two thousand years that followed.
Der Neue Pauly
Original German edition of the authoritative modern encyclopedia of the ancient world.
Brill's New Jacoby
Jacoby Online presents a completely new edition of “Jacoby” — byword for one of the fundamental modern sources of classical scholarship — in a fully searchable and indexed online format. Beginning in January 2007 and proceeding in twice — yearly updates at the rate of about 60 historians per update (approximate equivalent of 1,000 printed pages), each of Jacoby's 856 entries, comprising a total of more than 12,000 pages.
Oxford Bibliographies Online - Classics
Find introductory essays and annotated lists of books and articles to help you with your research on topics across the classics discipline. Dee Claymen serves as the editor in chief of the classics bibliographies.

Oxford Handbooks This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks Online is an outstanding collection of the best Handbooks areas across many different subject areas. One of the most prestigious and successful strands of Oxfords scholarly publishing, the Handbook series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field.

FSU subscribes to select handbooks in the areas of Classical Studies, Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy, and Religion.
Abbreviation: oxhp
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: Classics, Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy, Religion
Type: E-Book Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Oxford Classical Dictionary (Online ed.)
The Oxford Classical Dictionary is the most authoritative and accessible dictionary of its kind. It is an essential reference for both scholars and non-specialists with an interest in the classical era.

This is the online edition, updated monthly with revised and corrected articles,

Lynette Thompson Library Collection

The departmental collection in the Lynette Thompson Library is now cataloged in LibraryThing. Click the link below to see what's available to the students and faculty of the FSU Classics Department.

Thompson Classics Collection