Skip to Main Content
Outside users can access many FSU resources through the six visitor research kiosks at the Strozier Library. In order to gain access to the library, a valid state-issued ID must be presented. This computers do not allow access to webpages other than the allowed FSU resources, and it is necessary to bring a flashdrive to download any content you might want to save. There is no access of outside email accounts.
This database contains detailed industry surveys that address the question of market size and share for roughly 50 industries.
Business Insight: Essentials
This database contains market share reports and comparison charts for industries as well as industry news and links to trade associations.
Plunkett Research Online
This database contains market research, industry statistics, trends and in-depth analysis of top companies in several different industries.
The First Research industry reports and the Just-Series market research reports are great sources for information pertaining to market size and share.
Business Source Complete
In addition to industry news and press releases, Business Source Complete has a number of industry and market research reports that can be searched using its limiter options.
BCC Research is a market research and forcasting company providing industry reports for industries pertaining to technology and the sciences.
The size of the industry is discussed in the industry profile section of the industry reports that can be found using NAICS/SIC or keyword searches.
BizMiner provides detailed industry analysis and financial reports on more than 16,000 lines of business in national and local markets down to the zip code level. These can be used to show the size and growth of an industry by geographic area.
A collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings. Coverage includes over 700 U.S. industries in over 1100 industry-specific reports. Research reports contain trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, forcasting, and industry growth rates. Performance analysis includes emerging trends, recent production performance and 5 year forecasts. The US Specialized Industry Reports series covers niche industries such as pawn shops, boat insurance companies, air gun manufacturers and circus operators.
The Importance of Determining the Size of the Market
Understanding the size of the market and market share is essential to the success of any business. It is much easier for businesses to grow in larger and growing markets than it is for businesses to grow in newer and smaller markets where companies can easily crowd one another out. Understanding how to adjust your strategy to a larger, existing market and become competitive within it is the best way to develop a strong customer base.
Google Advanced Search
Many trade and industry associations publish reports about the market size/share of their industries, and several market research companies release pieces of their information in press releases about their reports. A search with the keywords of your industry and the words "market size" or "market share" could bring some valuable results with the right use of the other search options.
Florida Electronic Library
The FLElibrary can be freely accessed from a Florida IP address or with the use of a Florida public library card. General Business File ASAP and news databases such as Academic OneFile can be valuable sources of information about market size/share published by trade associations or reports from brokers and market researchers.
Economic Census: Industry Snapshots
The Industry Snapshots provide statistics and ratios calculated from population estimates for the selected industry.
U.S. Census Industry Statistics Portal
This is a database of a number of key statistics tracked by the U.S. Census Bureau on U.S. industries.
BizStats offers free business financial ratios for 250 industries, along with other well-organized business and industry statistics.