Research Guides: Medieval Studies: Reference Resources

Reference Resources

The Age of Wars of Religion, 1000-1650 by Cathal J. Nolan
Call Number: D114.N66 2006
Publication Date: 2006
The Catholic encyclopedia; an international work of reference on the constitution, doctrine, discipline, and history of the Catholic church by editors: Charles G. Herbermann, et al.
Call Number: BX841.C25 1913
Publication Date: c. 1913-1940
Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature by Robert Thomas Lambdin; Laura C. Lambdin
Call Number: PN669 .E53 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Key Figures in Medieval Europe by Richard K. Emmerson (Editor); Sandra Clayton-Emmerson (Editor); Richard Kenneth Emmerson
Call Number: D115.K49 2006
Publication Date: 2005
Medieval Archaeology by Pamela Crabtree (Editor)
Call Number: D125.M42 2001
Publication Date: 2000
Medieval England: an encyclopedia by Paul E. Szarmach, et al.
Call Number: DA129.M43 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Medieval Europe, 814-1350 by Jeremiah Hackett (Editor)
Call Number: D102.M38 2002
Publication Date: 2001
Medieval Folklore : an encyclopedia of myths, legends, tales, beliefs, and customs by Carl Lindahl (Editor); John McNamara (Editor); John Lindow (Editor)
Call Number: GR35.M43 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Medieval France: an encyclopedia by William W. Kibler (Editor); Grover A. Zinn (Editor); John Bell Henneman (Editor); Lawrence Earp (Editor)
Call Number: DC33.2 .M44 1995
Publication Date: 1995
Medieval Germany : an encyclopedia by John M. Jeep (Editor)
Call Number: DD157.M43 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Medieval Iberia : an encyclopedia by E. Michael Gerli, editor et al.
Call Number: DP99.M33 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Medieval Islamic Civilization: an encyclopedia by Josef W. Meri (Editor)
Call Number: DS36.85.M434 2006
Publication Date: 2005
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military Technology by Clifford J. Rogers, editor in chief
Call Number: U37.O94 2010
ISBN: 0195334035
Publication Date: 2010
Trade, Travel, and Exploration in the Middle Ages: an encyclopedia by John Block Friedma; Kristen Mossler Figg; Gregory G. Guzman (Editors)
Call Number: HF1001.T7 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Women and Gender in Medieval Europe by Margaret C. Schaus
Call Number: HQ1147.E85 W66 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Women in the Middle Ages: an encyclopedia by Katharina M. Wilson (Editor); Nadia Margolis (Editor)
Call Number: HQ1143.W643 2004
Publication Date: 2004-12-30

The Arthurian Name Dictionary by Christopher W. Bruce (Editor)
Call Number: DA152.5.A7 B78 1999
ISBN: 0815328656
A Dictionary of Medieval Terms and Phrases by Christopher Corèdon; Ann Williams
Call Number: DA129.C67 2004
Publication Date: 2005
Dictionnaire d'archéologie chrétienne et de liturgie publié par le r. p. dom Fernand Cabrol ... avec le concours d'un grand nombre de collaborateurs. by Letouzey et Ané Paris
Call Number: FSU Remote Storage 2 Request -- BR95.C2
Publication Date: 1907-1953
15 Volumes
Historical Thesaurus of the Oxford English Dictionary by Christian Kay, et al.
Call Number: PE1591.H55 2009
Publication Date: 2009
A Latin dictionary founded on Andrews' edition of Freund's Latin dictionary. by Ethan Allen Andrews
Call Number: PA2365.E5A7 1955
Medieval Art: a topical dictionary by Leslie Ross
Call Number: N7850.R67 1996
Publication Date: 1996
Medieval Studies by Albrecht Classen 3 Volumes
Call Number: D116.H37 2010
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Robert E. Bjork (Editor)
Call Number: D114.O94 2010
ISBN: 0198662629
Publication Date: 2010
Oxford Latin dictionary.
Call Number: PA2365.E5O9
Publication Date: 1982

Dictionary of Irish Biography A collaborative project between Cambridge University Press and the Royal Irish Academy, it is the most comprehensive and authoritative biographical dictionary yet published for Ireland.
Dictionary of Old English (DOE) he Dictionary of Old English (DOE) is a dictionary of the Old English language, published by the Centre for Medieval Studies, University of Toronto, under the direction of Angus Cameron, Ashley Crandell Amos, and Antonette diPaolo Healey.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (10 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window A ground-breaking and engaging reference work providing 58,700 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. State-of-the-art search options, extensive internal cross-referencing, access to articles from the original DNB, and navigation by "themes" combine with rigorous research and scholarship to make the Oxford DNB one of the most innovative and important reference sites available online.
Please note: Oxford Dictionary of National Biography only allows access for 10 FSU users at one time. If you are being asked for a username and password, please try to access the database later.

Resource URL: http://www.oxforddnb.com/
Abbreviation: dnb
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Coverage: 1400Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Biographies

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages A collaborative work of over 600 scholars from more than forty countries, the Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages provides 3,000 concise and detailed articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century.

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window The OED traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. The online OED includes a Historical Thesaurus and Timelines.
Resource URL: https://www.oed.com/
Abbreviation: oed
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: English, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Oxford Music Online (14 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window Covers musical composers, performers, scholars and persons whose contributions are in some way connected to the world of music. Includes 3,000 links to related sites that contain sound archives and illustrations and full-text searching capabilities. Global coverage of articles includes all genres of music from ancient times to the present.
Please note: Oxford Music only allows access for 14 FSU users at one time. If you are being asked for a username and password, please try to access the database later.

Resource URL: http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com/
Abbreviation: grove-music
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: Music
Type: Biographies, E-Journal Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Oxford Reference (5 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window Oxford Reference contains over 100 general and subject dictionaries, and language reference works published by Oxford University Press. The collection includes quotations, proverbs, place-names and other general reference works. Among the English language reference works are thesauri and a wide variety of dictionaries (e.g. grammar, abbreviations, idioms, eponyms, euphemisms). Foreign language dictionaries include German, Italian, and Spanish. Specialized subject dictionaries are available in a wide range of disciplines.
Please note: Oxford Reference only allows access for 5 FSU users at one time. If you are being asked for a username and password, please try to access the database later.

Subjects:
Archaeology
Art & Architecture
Bilingual dictionaries
Classical studies
Encyclopedias
English Dictionaries and Thesauri
History
Language reference
Law
Linguistics
Literature
Media studies
Medicine and health
Music
Names studies
Performing arts
Philosophy
Quotations
Religion
Science and technology
Social sciences
Society and culture

Resource URL: http://www.oxfordreference.com/
Abbreviation: oxfordref
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window A dynamic encyclopedia published as a project of the Metaphysics Research Lab at the Center for the Study of Language and Information at Stanford University. In a dynamic encyclopedia, each entry is maintained and kept up to date on a routine, frequent basis by an expert or group of experts in the field.
Resource URL: http://plato.stanford.edu/
Abbreviation: stanencycphil
Vendor: The Metaphysics Research Lab, Stanford University
Coverage: 1995–Current
Subjects: Classics, History, Philosophy, Religion
Type: Biographies, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Open Access, Research Starter