Research Guides: Medieval Studies: Home

Looking for Journal Articles?

Iter bibliography This link opens in a new window
Iter bibliography addresses many aspects of the Middle Ages and Renaissance, such as archaeology, art, history, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and science, covering the years 400–1700. It provides citations for books, journals, and essays.
Abbreviation: iter
Vendor: Iter, University of Toronto Libraries
Coverage: 1784–Current
Subjects: History, Literature, Religion, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Oxford Bibliographies combines features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, giving researchers scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
Subjects:
African Studies
African American Studies
American Literature
Anthropology
Art History
Atlantic History
Biblical Studies
British and Irish Literature
Buddhism
Childhood Studies
Chinese Studies
Cinema and Media Studies
Classics
Communication
Criminology
Ecology
Education
Hinduism
International Law
International Relations
Islamic Studies
Jewish Studies
Latin American Studies
Linguistics
Literary and Critical Theory
Medieval Studies
Military History
Music
Philosophy
Political Science
Psychology
Public Health
Renaissance and Reformation
Social Work
Sociology
Victorian Literature

Abbreviation: oxbib
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: Religion, Urban and Regional Planning, *General / Multi-Subject, Bibliography
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Research Starter
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays about women, sexuality and gender in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, from 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E. Updated frequently.
Abbreviation: mwgi
Vendor: University of Iowa Libraries
Coverage: 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E.
Subjects: History, Literature, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs, Open Access
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Works of interest to scholars are included whether they are written for a scholarly or a more general audience, provided that the content or its treatment places them within the scope of the bibliography. Masters' theses, guides that are essentially plot summaries, and other apprentice or simplified works are excluded.
Abbreviation: mla
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1921–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Literature, Middle Eastern Studies, Rhetoric & Composition, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

ATLA Religion
Comprehensive database designed to support religious and theological scholarship.

PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.
Abbreviation: philpap
Vendor: The PhilPapers Foundation
Subjects: Philosophy
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals in the areas of aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic and metaphysics. It is also a rich source of material on the philosophy of various disciplines, such as education, history, law, religion and science.
Abbreviation: philindex
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1940–Current
Subjects: Religion, Philosophy
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Oxford Handbooks This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks Online is an outstanding collection of the best Handbooks areas across many different subject areas. One of the most prestigious and successful strands of Oxfords scholarly publishing, the Handbook series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field.

FSU subscribes to select handbooks in the areas of Classical Studies, Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy, and Religion.
Abbreviation: oxhp
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: Classics, Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy, Religion
Type: E-Book Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Art Index Retrospective and Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Art Index Retrospective: 1929–1984 provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews. Art Full Text is a foundational art research database providing full-text art journals and books. It covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, film and architecture.
Abbreviation: artind
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1929–1984
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Artstor (changing to JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
Artstor was a digital library with more than 1.5 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Artstor retired on August 1, 2024—all content, resources, and functionality has moved to JSTOR. For more information, see the Artstor migration guide and Artstor on JSTOR videos. Artstor content is available at Artstor on JSTOR.
The ARTstor Digital Library is used by educators, scholars, and students at a variety of institutions including universities, colleges, museums, public libraries, and K-12 schools. The Digital Library serves users both within the arts and in disciplines outside of the arts. This includes historians of art and architecture and others engaged in the visual arts, as well as individuals in fields as diverse as American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Literary Studies, Medieval Studies, Music, Religious Studies, and Renaissance Studies, all of whom find the images in ARTstor to be relevant to their teaching and research.

Tutorials:
Using ARTstor
Training videos on YouTube

Abbreviation: artstor
Vendor: ARTstor
Subjects: Archaeology, Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Classics, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art
Type: Images
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.
Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database)

Abbreviation: avery
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1865–Current
Subjects: Architecture, Art History, Interior Design, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) provides a comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of Western art from late antiquity to the present. Broad in scope, BHA and RILA encompasses fine arts-painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, and architecture-as well as decorative and applied arts-crafts, graphic arts, folk, and popular art.

BHA and RILA indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs and articles from thousands of periodicals in many languages. The database is particularly strong in European art from the medieval through modern periods, and in the indexing of foreign language materials.
Abbreviation: bibl-hist-art
Vendor: Getty Research Institute
Coverage: 1975–2007
Subjects: Art History
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of 300).
Abbreviation: ftl-ind
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: Communication, Film Studies, Literature
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
The Index of Medieval Art records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1550. Significant holdings from Coptic Egypt, Lebanon, Ethiopia, Syria, Armenia, and the Near East. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, and these include manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, and glass.

The Subject File is broken down into five broad categories:
- Figures: Historical, literary, legendary, and mythological, including such themes as bishops, falconers, dancers, personifications, and saints
- Scenes: Ecclesiastical, historical, liturgical, secular, sports and games, and occupational
- Nature: Includes animals, rivers, vegetation, etc.
- Objects: Includes the entire range of secular and sacred objects. Examples include musical instruments, utensils, furniture, vestments, etc.
- Miscellany: Includes symbols or conventional motifs like the Hand of God, signs of the zodiac, monograms, etc.
Abbreviation: christart
Vendor: Princeton University
Subjects: Art History, Religion
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window
The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the definitive resource for scholarly literature on western art and is published exclusively by ProQuest. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute as part of BHA. These records were created in 2008–2009, and cover scholarship up to 2009, including retrospective records for material published in previous years. ProQuest will be building on this by adding 25,000 new records per year going forwards, ensuring unbroken coverage of indexed journals.
Subject coverage:
European art since late antiquity
American art since the colonial period
Global art since 1945
Fine art in all media
Decorative arts and antiques
Museum studies and conservation
Archaeology and material culture
Folk art
Architectural history

Abbreviation: ibibart
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1945–Current
Subjects: Art History
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles.
Abbreviation: ibtd
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: Dance, Literature, Music, Theatre
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A global, multidimensional resource for music researchers with content spanning dozens of counties and languages. Full-text coverage includes articles and reviews as well as obituaries, editorials, correspondence, advertisements, and news, published from the early 20th century to the present. Subject areas include musicology, ethnomusicology, theory, instruments, pedagogy, performance, and all other disciplines related to music.
Abbreviation: rilm
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1923–Current
Subjects: Music, Music Education, Music Therapy
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Need Help? Contact the Arts & Humanities Librarians

Need help with your research? Because Medieval studies is interdisciplinary, drawing from a range of subjects and methods, we recommend you reach out to the librarian whose subject expertise most closely matches your research needs.

Adam Beauchamp
Humanities Librarian
Provides help in History, Philosophy, Religion, and related fields.
abeauchamp@fsu.edu
Jonathan DaSo
Student Success Librarian
Provides help in Modern Languages, Asian studies, Latin American studies, Russian & East European studies, and related fields.
jdaso@fsu.edu
Leah Sherman
Visual & Performing Arts Librarian.
Provides help in Art, Art History, Dance, Theatre, and related fields.
lsherman@fsu.edu
Mallary Rawls
Interdisciplinary Subject Librarian
Provides help in African-American Studies, Asian Studies, English, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Women's Studies, and related fields.
mrawls@fsu.edu