Research Guides: Demography: Articles

Search Google Scholar

Directory of Open Acces Journals (DOAJ)

DOAJ

DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Selected Journals

Applied Demography
The Applied Demography newsletter is jointly supported by the PAA Business Demography Group and the State and Local Demography Group. Applied Demography contains articles of interest to demographers working in applied settings, technical articles on demographic analysis, and announcements of related news and upcoming events.

Here's a selected list of Demography journals. Some are FSU resources and others are open access journals, meaing they are freely available online.

To find the full text of the article, click on a link to the full text or the "Find it @ FSU" button in the database. Many journals are available online, but some are in the Libraries' print collection. Articles from journals not available at FSU may be requested through interlibrary loan.

AgeLine
AgeLine focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging.
Demography (1997-present)
"Demography presents the highest quality original research of scholars in a broad range of disciplines, including anthropology, biology, economics, geography, history, psychology, public health, sociology, and statistics."
Demography (older issues)
"Demography presents the highest quality original research of scholars in a broad range of disciplines, including anthropology, biology, economics, geography, history, psychology, public health, sociology, and statistics."
Journal of Population Economics
The Journal of Population Economics is an international quarterly that publishes original theoretical and applied research in all areas of population economics

Older issues of this periodical can be found in the stacks on Strozier's 2nd floor
Journal of Population and Ageing
The Journal of Population Ageing (JPA) examines the broad questions of ageing societies throughout the world, thereby stimulating discussion of North American, European, and Transitional and Developing World issues.
Journal of the American Planning Association
JAPA is a key journal for urban planning. Housing and population is an area of study within urban planning, which makes it useful to demographers.

More Databases

Search these databases to find journal articles on demography. From an off-campus location, first log in to "off campus access" using your FSU ID and password.

DemographicsNow (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window
Demographics Now has been developed by SRC, LLC to bring you the data you need to make sound business decisions. With DemographicsNow you can analyze the demographic and market potential of any geography in the U.S. Ceases publication on March 28, 2025.
Abbreviation: demnow
Vendor: Gale
Subjects: Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Geography, Hospitality, Public Health
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Maps
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

If you receive an error about not being able to access this database because of using a proxy server, please go straight to https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/ then create an account using the link in the upper right to access their site from anywhere. Please use your FSU credentials for the account. If you receive an error about not being from a member institution, submit a request for validation by sending an email to icpsr-help@umich.edu and include your name, your institutional email address, and the name of your institution.
Abbreviation: icpsr
Vendor: University of Michigan
Coverage: 1962–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Human Development & Family Science, Geography, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Safety and Security, Retail Entrepreneurship, Social Work, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics
iPOLL Databank (Roper Center) This link opens in a new window
IPOLL, from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, is a full-text database of 500,000 questions from national public opinion surveys since 1935 and updated daily. iPOLL includes survey results data from academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, ABC, CBS, Wall Street Journal and many more. Many data sets are available for download in ASCII or SPSS format.
Tutorials:
iPOLL Quick Guide (pdf)
Introduction to New Roper iPoll (02:01)
Conducting a Search in Roper iPoll (04:59)

Abbreviation: ipoll
Vendor: Cornell University
Coverage: 1935–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Geography, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Safety and Security, Retail Entrepreneurship, Social Work, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics
Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
An excellent tool on social science research methods includes over 1000 methods books, 1100 case studies, reference works, journal articles, and instructional video tutorials by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. In addition, the full-text titles from the Sage’s Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series(“The Little Green Books”) and Qualitative Research Methods Series ("The Little Blue Books”) books are available.
Abbreviation: srmo
Vendor: Sage Publishing
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Communication, Rhetoric & Composition, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Citation Management, Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Research Starter, Streaming Video
Social Explorer (1 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
Note: Only 1 simultaneous user is allowed. Contains historical decennial census data for the United States from 1790 to the latest census, the American Community Survey, the American Religious Bodies (ASARB), and InfoGroup for latest religion data. Able to create reports and download data in convenient formats quickly and easily. Engagement between society and science.
Tutorials:
Social Explorer LibGuide

Abbreviation: socex
Vendor: Center for Research Libraries
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Geography, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Social Work, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text covers a wide array of areas, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies and much more. Covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text resource provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals.
Abbreviation: ssft
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1983–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Early Childhood Education, Economics, Geography, Human Development & Family Science, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Social Work, Sociology, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociology-related topics such as: abuse and neglect, aging, anthropology, criminology, crisis intervention, demography, education, ethnic studies, law and penology, social psychology, urban studies, violence, and women's studies.
Subject coverage:
Culture and social structure
Family and marriage
History and theory of sociology
Organizational sociology
Political sociology
Poverty and homelessness
Race and ethnicity
Social change and economic development
Social control
Sociology of health and medicine
Sociology of education

Abbreviation: socabs
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1963–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Demography and Population Studies, Human Development & Family Science, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Subject Specialist Librarian

Mohamed Berray

Email Me

Contact:

0027P Scholars Commons
Strozier Library

850-645-2709

Subjects: Government Information, Political Science, Public Administration and Policy