Research Guides: Demography: Data Sources

Government Data Sources

Data.gov
"Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more."

Data resources from various federal and state agencies

American FactFinder
Census tool to find quantitative information on the United States
U.S. Census Bureau Data Tools and Apps
Find information using interactive applications to get statistics from multiple surveys from the US Census Bureau.
Office of Economic and Demographic Research
Population and demographic data and reports from Florida's Office of Economic and Demographic Research
Bureau of Economic and Business Research
Provides Florida data related to economics and business. Contains housing and population profiles for Florida. Not all of this data is free.
HealthData.gov
A website managed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Includes datasets from topics like: public health, population statistics, epidemiology and much more.
Historic Statistics of the United States
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history.

Data from FSU Databases

Demographics Now
Demographics Now has been developed by SRC, LLC to bring you the data you need to make sound business decisions. With DemographicsNow you can analyze the demographic and market potential of any geography in the U.S.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

In order to download data, you'll need to create an account using your FSU email address. Please make sure you're logged into your FSU Libraries account prior to entering ICPSR
Abbreviation: icpsr
Vendor: University of Michigan
Coverage: 1962–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Human Development & Family Science, Geography, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Safety and Security, Retail Entrepreneurship, Social Work, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics
Social Explorer (1 concurrent user limit)
An online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information.
Only 1 user allowed to use this database at a time.
Tutorials:
Social Explorer LibGuide

Abbreviation: socex
Vendor: Center for Research Libraries
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Geography, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Social Work, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps
OECD
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development provides access to publications (reports, research papers, policy papers, briefs, and datasets) and is a knowledge hub for regional and global engagement and best practices in public policy.
Tutorials:
User Guide

Subjects include:
Agriculture and Food
Development
Economics
Education
Employment
Energy
Environment
Finance and Investment
Governance
Industry and Services
Nuclear Energy
Science and Technology
Social Issues/Migration/Health
Taxation
Trade
Transport
Urban, Rural and Regional Development

Abbreviation: sourceoecd
Vendor: OECD
Subjects: Anthropology, Art, Business, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Geography, Higher Education, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Music Education, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sociocultural and International Education, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

Census 2010 Summary File 1 - from GeoLytics
Provides the same variables and provides all of the same details about the population of the United States. It is a 100 % count of all Americans. It includes race, Hispanics, age of head of household, age of children, presence of older relatives, composition of the family, family size, rent vs. own, etc.

GeoLytics Neighborhood Change Database 1970–2010 (2 concurrent user limit)
1970, 1980, 1990 and 2000 at the census tract level to do time series analysis, which includes an extensive subset of census variables - about 1,000 variables for each decade. Evaluate population trends without having to control for changes in boundary definitions. requires Internet Explorer 9 or earlier version
There is a two concurrent user limit.

Abbreviation: ncdgeo
Vendor: GeoLytics
Coverage: 1970-2010
Subjects: Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics

Non-Profit and NGO Data Sources

The World Bank Open Data
The Data Catalog provides download access to over 8,000 indicators from World Bank data sets.

Data sources form non-profit organizations as well as other non-governmental organizations

Migration Policy Institute Data Hub
The Data Hub showcases the most current national and state-level demographic, social, and economic facts about immigrants to the United States; as well as stock, flow, citizenship, net migration, and historical data for countries in Europe, North America, and beyond.
Population Reference Bureau DataFinder
private, non-profit organization that informs people around the world about population, health, and the environment.
IPUMS International
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series International Census Microdata for Social and Economic Research

more... less...

you'll need to create a free account before using this product.
IPUMS CPS
IPUMS-CPS is a project dedicated to integrating and disseminating data from the Current Population Survey

Other guides with useful data

The guides below may be helpful in acquiring data. Includes government data as well as spatial data

Federal Data
by Mohamed Berray Last Updated Jun 6, 2025 84 views this year
Geography
by Kelly Grove Last Updated Jun 16, 2025 88 views this year
Demography
by Mila Turner Last Updated Oct 9, 2024 80 views this year

Subject Specialist Librarian

Mohamed Berray

Email Me

Contact:

0027P Scholars Commons
Strozier Library

850-645-2709

Subjects: Government Information, Political Science, Public Administration and Policy

Demography

Government Data Sources

Data from FSU Databases

Non-Profit and NGO Data Sources

Other guides with useful data

Subject Specialist Librarian

Ask a Librarian