Skip to Main Content
Peer review is an important part of the cycle of scholarship. Listed below are organizations or projects that host peer-reviewed digital projects in the humanities.
Nines: Nineteenth-century scholarship online
NINES (Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship) is a scholarly organization devoted to forging links between the material archive of the nineteenth century and the digital research environment of the twenty-first.
A sister-organization for NINES, 18thConnect gathers together a community of scholars that shapes the world of digital resources.
Use these sites to find collaborators for your project or a project to join.
DHCommons, an initiative of centerNet, is an online hub focused on matching digital humanities projects seeking assistance with scholars interested in project collaboration.
HASTAC (Humanities, Arts, Science, and Technology Advanced Collaboratory) is a network of individuals and institutions from all disciplines interested in how digital technologies can affect all aspects of teaching and research.
Open Access Digital Libraries
This is by no means an exhaustive list, but is a representation of the variety of digital libraries available.
American Influenza Epidemic of 1918-1919: A Digital Encyclopedia
Produced by the University of Michigan Center for the History of Medicine and MPublishing, University of Michigan Library
British Women Romantic Poets, 1789-1832
The British Women Romantic Poet's Project is producing an online scholarly archive consisting of E-text editions of poetry by British and Irish women written (not necessarily published) between 1789 (the onset of the French Revolution) and 1832 (the passage of the Reform Act), a period traditionally known in English literary history as the Romantic period.
The Codex Sinaiticus Project is an international collaboration to reunite the entire manuscript in digital form and make it accessible to a global audience for the first time. Drawing on the expertise of leading scholars, conservators and curators, the Project gives everyone the opportunity to connect directly with this famous manuscript.
Since planning began in 1985, the Perseus Digital Library Project has explored what happens when libraries move online. Our flagship collection, under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. We are applying what we have learned from Classics to other subjects within the humanities and beyond.
St. Gall Plan
This website presents digital versions of two of the gems surviving from the monasteries of Reichenau and St. Gall. One is the unique architectural drawing known as the Plan of St. Gall. The other is the extensive ninth-century library collections of the two monasteries, identifiable by their distinctive script. Both of these are complimented by various resources to assist in their study, providing further information about the material and intellectual contexts of Reichenau and St. Gall.
Victorian Women Writers Project
Begun in 1995 at Indiana University, the project was on hiatus from 2003 until a few years ago. VWWP is primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more. VWWP contains scores of authors, both prolific and rare.
Data Visualization, Online Exhibitions and Other DH Projects
InPho - Indiana Philosophy Ontology project
Use InPho to search or browse through philosophical ideas, thinkers and journals and see connections between people and ideas. Includes links to information in the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy and other resources.
Give Me My Data
Developed by Owen Mundy of FSU's Art department, Give Me My Data is a Facebook application that helps users export their data out of Facebook for reuse in visualizations, archives, or any possible method of digital storytelling. Data can be exported in common formats like CSV, XML, and JSON as well as customized network graph formats.
Past Encounters with Public Health
An online exhibition using Omeka software by Jennifer Koslow of FSU's History department. This exhibition stems from her work preparing the book, “Displaying the Road to Wellness: Public Health Exhibits in the Early Twentieth Century.” This book looks at the history of public presentations of disease prevention to show how exhibits shaped a generation of public health understanding in the US
GapVis Map of Locations Mentioned by Josephus
An interactive map showing the sites mentioned by Josephus, the citations where the places are mentioned, and the relationships between these locations in the text.