Research Guides: Music Bibliography Guide: Theses, Dissertations, and Non-Music Topics

Music Quick Links

Allen Music Library Home Page

Frequently Used Resources

Academic Search Complete
A general periodical index that includes music and interdisciplinary topics among many others.
Chicago Manual of Style ONLINE
Dissertations and Theses
Google Scholar with FSU full-text links
Google Scholar can be a useful searching tool, particularly when it checks against the electronic full text holdings at FSU. This link requires you to log in with your FSU e-mail information-- but it's worth it!
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service where a student, faculty, or staff of Florida State University may obtain books or obtain photocopies of articles from other institutions.
JStor
Main Campus printing plus print drivers
Download drivers to your computer; you can then send a print job to a campus printer and release it/print it on campus!
Music Index Online
Indexes major music periodicals from 1970 to the present.
Oxford Bibliographies
Great resource to target the top readings and resources on specific topics.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Choose "Music"
Oxford Music Online
Great first stop for composer, genre, period, instrument information and more. Article bibliographies get you to the next step in your research. Includes Grove Music and other relevant titles.
more...less...
Contains Grove Music and more.
Purdue Online Writing Lab: Chicago Manual Style
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
The main scholarly index to articles about music.

Oxford Reference (5 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
includes Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd ed., Grove Opera, and more
Please note: Oxford Reference only allows access for 5 FSU users at one time. If you are being asked for a username and password, please try to access the database later.

Subjects:
Archaeology
Art & Architecture
Bilingual dictionaries
Classical studies
Encyclopedias
English Dictionaries and Thesauri
History
Language reference
Law
Linguistics
Literature
Media studies
Medicine and health
Music
Names studies
Performing arts
Philosophy
Quotations
Religion
Science and technology
Social sciences
Society and culture

Abbreviation: oxfordref
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
includes music titles
Subjects with full text:
Philosophy
Law
Religion
Political Science
Economics and Finance
Psychology

Tutorials:
Take a Tour (PowerPoint, PDF, and video available)

Abbreviation: oso
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, Indexes / Catalogs

Broad Resources

WorldCat
Think of it as the FSU Library Catalog for the World!
Dissertations and Theses
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology Online
DDM is an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines. Currently containing over 14,000 records, including the corrected and updated contents of all earlier printed editions of Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology and supplements contributed from musicological centers throughout the world, the database is fully searchable.
Washington University Music Necrology

Even More Resources!

So, if music specific databases/resources exist, wouldn't it stand to reason that dedicated resources exist for other subject areas too? Absolutely! Here are links to list of other resources that may help you as well:

Women and Gender Studies
- Guide to women and gender studies; includes sociology resources as well as resources dedicated to women/feminist issues, transgender, lesbian, gay and bisexual studies.
Religious Studies
Art and Art History

Just to name a few. To find more databases/resources grouped by broad subject, go to the FSU Libraries information by subject page.

Head, Warren D. Allen Music Library

Laura Gayle Green

Email Me

Contact:

Allen Music Library
College of Music, FSU
122 N. Copeland St.
Tallahassee, FL 32306

850-644-3999

Subjects: Music