Asian Studies

"The maps included in this database are from the Special Collections of The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Library.

The Antique Maps of China collection includes more than 230 maps, charts, pictures, books and atlases. It represents almost all samples of China maps produced by European cartographers from the 16th to 19th centuries. This cartographic archive vividly records the long history of cross-cultural exchanges between China and the West" (http://lbxml.ust.hk/mp/main.html).

"The Digital South Asia Library provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia to scholars, public officials, business leaders, and other users. This program builds upon a two-year pilot project funded by the Association of Research Libraries' Global Resources Program with support from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. Participants in the Digital South Asia Library include leading U.S. universities, the Center for Research Libraries, the South Asia Microform Project, the Committee on South Asian Libraries and Documentation, the Association for Asian Studies, the Library of Congress, the Asia Society, the British Library, the University of Oxford, the University of Cambridge, MOZHI in India, the Sundarayya Vignana Kendram in India, Madan Puraskar Pustakalaya in Nepal, and other institutions in South Asia" (http://dsal.uchicago.edu/about.html).

"IDP is a ground-breaking international collaboration to make information and images of all manuscripts, paintings, textiles and artefacts from Dunhuang and archaeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road freely available on the Internet and to encourage their use through educational and research programmes" (http://idp.bl.uk/).

"The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world (http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html).

Please note that the FSU Libraries have older print versions of these same materials, which are valuable for historical and research purposes. For more information, please visit our Country Studies page.

This page links to digital collections from the Library of Congress in Asian Studies.

"The National Library’s Asian language collections focus on contemporary Asia from the 19th century onwards. Systematic collecting began in the 1950s and covers a range of subjects, such as history, politics, current affairs, society and culture. Books, journals, government publications, magazines and newspapers are supplemented by full-text article databases, e-books, archived websites and ephemeral materials.

The collections are strongest for the countries of East and Southeast Asia, and there are rich holdings of English language materials on Asia" (http://www.nla.gov.au/what-we-collect/asian).

Includes the Regional Economic Outlook (current and past issues, country information and more from the International Monetary Fund.

Includes data, documents, reports and information on the East Asian and Pacific countries. This area includes the following countries:Cambodia, China, Fiji, Indonesia, Kiribati, Korea, the People's Democratic Republic of Lao (Lao PDR), Malaysia, Marshall Islands, FS Micronesia, Mongolia, Palau, Papua New Guinea, the Philippines, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Vanuatu, and Vietnam.

Includes data, documents, reports and information on the South Asian countries (Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.)