Skip to main content
Welcome to the Religion Research Guide
Welcome to the Religion Research Guide. Here you will find a variety of resources useful for research on topics from Religion in America to Asian Religions.
Use the links to the left for more information about specific types of resources or different religions.
Listed here are some of the most used or most useful resources for studying religion. Items are listed in alphabetical order.
(1949 - Present)
Comprehensive database designed to support religious and theological scholarship.
CRL Religion and Philosophy Collections
The Center for Research Libraries, located in Chicago, IL, serves the academic research community with specialized collections of primary sources that may be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.
Digital Dictionary of Buddhism
This dictionary is a compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temple, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources.
FSU Department of Religion Online Resources
The FSU Department of Religion has compiled a very comprehensive cadre of online resources. Included on their page are links for both general and specific religion topics, in addition to a variety of search engines.
International Encyclopedia of Ethics
An online reference source from Wiley-Blackwell. Features articles from two FSU authors, Dr. John Kelsay and Dr. Sumner Twiss.
Today, the JSTOR archives include scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Loeb Classical Library Online
More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers authoritative research guides on a wide variety of topics. Find introductory essays and annotated lists of books and articles to help you with your research.
Oxford Handbooks in Philosophy
Oxford Handbooks in Philosophy bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss the latest thinking in a range of major topics in philosophy. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
Oxford Handbooks in Religion
Oxford Handbooks in Religion bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in religion. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.