Research Guides: *Religion: Christianity

Additional Guides for the study of Christianity

Biblical Studies
by Kimberly Windham Last Updated Jun 18, 2024 245 views this year

Early Christianity

Acta Sanctorum This link opens in a new window
The Acta Sanctorum database is an electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes. The collection of rare documents examines the lives of saints, organized according to each saint's feast day, and runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940.
Abbreviation: actasan
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1643–1940
Subjects: History, Literature, Religion
Type: E-Book Collections, Historical / Primary Sources
Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new window
The Patrologia Latina (Latin Church Fathers) Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included.
Tutorials:
Patrologia Latina Search Tips (PDF)

Abbreviation: patro
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 200–1216
Subjects: History, Religion
Type: E-Book Collections, Historical / Primary Sources
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
The mission of the Loeb Classical Library, founded by James Loeb in 1911, has always been to make Greek and Latin literature accessible to the broadest range of readers. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.
Abbreviation: loeb
Vendor: Harvard University Press
Coverage: 700 BCE–700 CE
Subjects: Classics, History, Literature, Religion, Theatre
Type: E-Book Collections

Church Histories & Missions

Missionary and Charity Periodicals, 1793-1902
The publications in this collection include those for both foreign and domestic missions and represent outreach to many different groups that include African-Americans, Native Americans, women, the poor, immigrants, and specific ethnic groups. Subjects include slavery, home missions, hospital work, and social problems.

Papal Letters This link opens in a new window
The electronic version of the celebrated Registres et lettres des Papes du XIIIe sicle (32 vols.; Rome, 1883 ) and the Registres et lettres des Papes du XIV e sicle (48 vols.; Rome, 1899 ) Complemented with unpublished information More than 220,000 documents providing insights into the most varied aspects of medieval society.
Abbreviation: papal
Vendor: Brepols Publishers
Subjects: History, Religion
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Indexes / Catalogs

Project Wittenberg
Lutheran original text material

Church Records & Missionary Documents (CRL)
Microfilmed records of major European Churches, Reformation era materials, and Missionary documents.
These specialized collections of primary sources that may be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.
China Historical Christian Database
The China Historical Christian Database (CHCD) quantifies and visualizes the place of Christianity in modern China (1550-1950). It provides users the tools to discover where every Christian church, school, hospital, orphanage, publishing house, and the like were located in China, and it documents who worked inside those buildings, both foreign and Chinese.
more...less...
The CHCD is hosted by the Center for Global Christianity and Mission at Boston University.