Research Guides: *Religion: REL 3180: Religion and Bioethics

Find Scholarly Articles

In addition to ATLA Religion, which we use to find articles in religious and theological studies, questions of bioethics may be addressed by philosophers, medical professionals, and others. The following databases can help you find journal articles and more from these areas of study.

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals in the areas of aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic and metaphysics. It is also a rich source of material on the philosophy of various disciplines, such as education, history, law, religion and science.
Abbreviation: philindex
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1940-Current
Subjects: Religion, Philosophy
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
PubMed (NLM) This link opens in a new window
PubMed, is a service of the National Library of Medicine, which provides access to over 16 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. MEDLINE is the primary database used for getting to the subject content of articles in medicine. There are several ways to get to MEDLINE, including OVID and PubMed. The FSU customized version of PubMed links directly from the article reference to the full article for all electronic journals available at FSU.
Tutorials:
PubMed Online Training

See also: MeSH (Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus and will assist you in formulating your successful searches.)

Abbreviation: pubmd
Vendor: National Library of Medicine
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Engineering, Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Music Therapy, Nursing & Integrative Physiology, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs

Subject Headings

Looking for books on bioethics topics? Try searching by subject heading with these terms:

Bioethics
Medical ethics
Religion and ethics
Religion and science
Human rights -- Health aspects
Death
Assisted suicide
Euthanasia
Right to die
Embryonic stem cells
Stem cells
Stem cells -- Research
Transplantation
Abortion
Reproductive rights
Reproductive technology

Hint: Try searching these terms with one of these phrases: Religious aspects or Moral and ethical aspects to focus on the religious or philosophical discussions of the topic.

Bioethics Reference

The Oxford Handbook of Bioethics by Bonnie Steinbock (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780199562411
Publication Date: 2009
Thirty-four contributors reflect the interdisciplinarity that is characteristic of bioethics, and its increasingly international character. The essays address both perennial issues, such as the methodology of bioethics, autonomy, justice, death, and moral status, and newer issues, such as biobanking, stem cell research, cloning, pharmacogenomics, and bioterrorism.
The Oxford Handbook of Religion and Science by Philip Clayton (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780199543656
Publication Date: 2008
Each chapter defends a major intellectual position - at the heart of the book is a series of 'pro' and 'con' papers, covering each of the current 'hot topics' (such as evolution versus creation, naturalism versus the supernatural). In addition to treatments of questions of methodology and implications for life and practice, the Handbook includes sections devoted to the major scientific disciplines, the major world religions, and the main sub-disciplines.