Research Guides: *Religion: Islam

Sacred Texts

Internet Sacred Text Archive: Islam
Arabic texts, translations, and transliterations of the Qur'an, as well as Hadith, Sufi texts, and histories of Islamic culture.

Reference & Bibliographies

Index Islamicus
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by an editorial team working at the School of Oriental and African Studies in London, established to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies, which have traditionally been part of the curriculum of SOAS. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam.

Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
Subject coverage: Islam, Muslim, Middle East, Arab, Asia, Africa, History, Political science, Arts, Humanities

Abbreviation: iislam
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1906–Current
Subjects: Asian Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Religion
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Oxford Bibliographies
Oxford Bibliographies combines features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, giving researchers scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
Select Islamic Studies from the Browse by Subject menu.
Subjects:
African Studies
African American Studies
American Literature
Anthropology
Art History
Atlantic History
Biblical Studies
British and Irish Literature
Buddhism
Childhood Studies
Chinese Studies
Cinema and Media Studies
Classics
Communication
Criminology
Ecology
Education
Hinduism
International Law
International Relations
Islamic Studies
Jewish Studies
Latin American Studies
Linguistics
Literary and Critical Theory
Medieval Studies
Military History
Music
Philosophy
Political Science
Psychology
Public Health
Renaissance and Reformation
Social Work
Sociology
Victorian Literature

Abbreviation: oxbib
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: Religion, Urban and Regional Planning, *General / Multi-Subject, Bibliography
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Research Starter

The Oxford Dictionary of Islam
Designed for readers with little or no knowledge of Islam, the Oxford Dictionary of Islam provides vividly-written, up-to-date, and authoritative entries. The Dictionary focuses primarily on the 19th and 20th centuries, providing a highly informative look at the religious, political, and social spheres of the modern Islamic world.

The New Cambridge History of Islam by Michael Cook (General Editor); Chase F. Robinson (Editor); Maribel Fierro (Editor); David Morgan (Editor); Anthony Reid (Editor); Robert Irwin (Editor); Francis Robinson (Editor); Robert Hefner (Editor)
Call Number: DS35.6 .C3 2010
ISBN: 052151536X
Publication Date: 2010
The New Cambridge History of Islam is a comprehensive history of Islamic civilization, tracing its development from its beginnings in seventh-century Arabia to its wide and varied presence in the globalised world of today. The six volumes reflect the geographical distribution and the cultural, social and religious diversity of the peoples of the Muslim world.
Encyclopaedia of Islam - Three by Marc Gaborieau; Gudrun Krämer (Editor); John Abdallah Nawas; Everett K. Rowson; Kate Fleet; Denis Matringe (Editor); John Nawas (Editor); Everett Rowson (Editor)
Call Number: BP40 .E523
ISBN: 9789004183902
Publication Date: 2007- [ongoing]
The Third Edition of Brill's Encyclopaedia of Islam appears in segments each year, providing comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world.