Research Guides: *Religion: Statistics & Surveys

Statistics & Data

The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) complies and provides access to a wide range of survey results and other data about religion in the US and around the World. It's a great first stop when looking for demographic data and surveys of religious communities. Many polls and surveys also include questions about religious affiliation and beliefs that might be compared with respondents other views and behaviors.

Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
Aggregates religious data from a wide variety of sources, covering all subjects, from congregational statistics to religious profiles for countries worldwide.
American Religious Identification Survey (ARIS)
The ARIS (American Religious Identification Survey) time series tracks changes in the religious loyalties of the American public. It comprises a set of three large replicate, representative, national surveys of adults in the continental U.S.A. (48 states & DC) in 1990, 2001 and 2008.
Berman Jewish Databank
The Berman Jewish Databank at the Jewish Federations of North America (JFNA) acquires, archives and provides open access to quantitative studies and related materials on North American Jews and Jewish communities, including demographics, surveys, and maps.
General Social Survey (GSS) Data Explorer
Collected since 1972, the GSS contains a standard core of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Among the topics covered are civil liberties, crime and violence, intergroup tolerance, morality, national spending priorities, psychological well-being, social mobility, and stress and traumatic events.

iPOLL Databank (Roper Center) This link opens in a new window
IPOLL, from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, is a full-text database of 500,000 questions from national public opinion surveys since 1935 and updated daily. iPOLL includes survey results data from academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, ABC, CBS, Wall Street Journal and many more. Many data sets are available for download in ASCII or SPSS format.
Tutorials:
iPOLL Quick Guide (pdf)
Introduction to New Roper iPoll (02:01)
Conducting a Search in Roper iPoll (04:59)

Abbreviation: ipoll
Vendor: Cornell University
Coverage: 1935–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Geography, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Safety and Security, Retail Entrepreneurship, Social Work, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics