Research Guides: *Religion: Judaism

Call Numbers and Subject Headings

Call Numbers

Print books are arranged by subject according to call numbers. Use call numbers to browse for books in their respective subjects. Most of these are located on the 2nd-5th floors of Strozier.

BL1650 Hebrew
BS701-1830 Old Testament
BM1-990 Religion- Judaism
DS101-151 History-Israel (Palestine). The Jews
KBM1-4855 Law- Jewish law. Halakah
PJ4501-5192 Language/Literature- Hebrew
PN842 Jewish literature in various languages
PN3035 The Jewish Theater
PN5650 The Jewish Press

Subject Headings

Subject headings can be used to search the library catalog for items on a topic. The following are examples of subject headings that may be used to search for items related to Jewish Studies.

Bible -- Old Testament -- Criticism, interpretation, etc

Hebrew Poetry, Biblical -- History and Criticism

Israel -- Historiography

Jewish art and symbolism -- Themes, motives

Judaism -- Study and Teaching

Sacred Texts

Leon Levy Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Library
A free online digitized virtual library of the Dead Sea Scrolls. Hundreds of manuscripts made up of thousands of fragments – discovered from 1947 and until the early 1960’s in the Judean Desert along the western shore of the Dead Sea – are now available to the public online.
The Aleppo Codex Online
The oldest extant manuscript known to us of the complete Hebrew Bible.
Internet Sacred Text Archive
Digital editions of the Hebrew Bible, Talmud and Mishna, Haggada, and historical writings.
Early Jewish Writings
"Early Jewish Writings is the most complete collection of Jewish documents from antiquity with translations, introductions, and links."

Consult the guide on Biblical Studies for additional resources.

Biblical Studies
by Adam Beauchamp Last Updated Aug 24, 2022 113 views this year

Reference & Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies combines features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, giving researchers scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
Select Jewish Studies from the Browse by Subject menu.
Subjects:
African Studies
African American Studies
American Literature
Anthropology
Art History
Atlantic History
Biblical Studies
British and Irish Literature
Buddhism
Childhood Studies
Chinese Studies
Cinema and Media Studies
Classics
Communication
Criminology
Ecology
Education
Hinduism
International Law
International Relations
Islamic Studies
Jewish Studies
Latin American Studies
Linguistics
Literary and Critical Theory
Medieval Studies
Military History
Music
Philosophy
Political Science
Psychology
Public Health
Renaissance and Reformation
Social Work
Sociology
Victorian Literature

Resource URL: http://www.oxfordbibliographies.com
Abbreviation: oxbib
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: Religion, Urban and Regional Planning, *General / Multi-Subject, Bibliography
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Research Starter

Jewish Encyclopedia
Originally published between 1901-1906, the Jewish Encyclopedia, which recently became part of the public domain, contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations.
Antisemitism Bibliography
Online version of the Antisemitism: An Annotated Bibliography project, Vidal Sassoon International Center for the Study of Antisemitism, the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.
more...less...
Print copies of volumes 1-12 available from FSU Remote Storage.

History & Culture

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Includes current journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and independent presses.
Select Jewish in the Ethnic Group to limit search results to Jewish publications.
- African American/Caribbean/African
- Arab/Middle Eastern
- Asian/Pacific Islander
- European/Eastern European
- Hispanic
- Jewish
- Native Peoples
Resource URL: http://search.proquest.com/ethnicnewswatch?accountid=4840
Abbreviation: ethnicnews2
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1973–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Asian Studies, Communication, History, International Affairs, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Political Science, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: E-Journal Collections, Newspapers and Newswires

Jewish Virtual Library
Source for information about Jewish history, Israel, U.S.-Israel relations, the Holocaust, anti-Semitism and Judaism.
JDoC: Jewish Diaspora Collection
The Jewish Diaspora Collection (JDoC) is a collaborative and cooperative digital library designed to preserve and provide wide access to Jewish heritage materials from Florida, Latin America and the Caribbean.
Holocaust: Primary Source Guide
A guide to primary sources online and in FSU Libraries relating to the Holocaust, 1941-1945.