A good place to start for any research in religion is the interdisciplinary database maintained by ATLA, the American Theological Library Association. Because scholars of religion come from a variety of disciplinary backgrounds, researchers will also find useful the subject-specific databases for History, Anthropology, and other related fields.
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Oxford Bibliographies combines features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, giving researchers scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. FSU has access to JSTOR’s Archive, Artstor, Primary Sources, and Global Plants collections.
The first four (4) databases here index journal articles by historians, but they are divided by region and time period. Choose the database that best matches your historical period of study.
The last database is a classic index of journal articles in anthropology, including ethnography. Consider this for the study of religion in cultural context.
L'Annee Philologique is an index of publications related to the history, language, literature and civilization of ancient Greece and Rome. It includes periodical articles, articles in book collections, festschriften, dissertations, and conference papers.
Iter bibliography addresses many aspects of the Middle Ages and Renaissance, such as archaeology, art, history, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and science, covering the years 400–1700. It provides citations for books, journals, and essays.
Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the United Kingdom. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
The Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains over 900,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. The disciplinary scope of the BAS is in general intended to cover the humanities, the social sciences, architecture and those natural sciences that have strong human components, such as medicine, public health, geology and the environment.
Source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. HAPI currently provides over 170,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 700 social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by an editorial team working at the School of Oriental and African Studies in London, established to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies, which have traditionally been part of the curriculum of SOAS. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam.
Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
Handbooks are edited volumes in which each chapter offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook chapters may be similar to review articles or "state of the field" articles in structure in that they review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as provide arguments for how those debates might evolve.
Oxford Handbooks Online is an outstanding collection of the best Handbooks areas across many different subject areas. One of the most prestigious and successful strands of Oxfords scholarly publishing, the Handbook series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field.
FSU subscribes to select handbooks in the areas of Classical Studies, Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy, and Religion.
© Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706
