Research Guides: *Religion: Getting Started: Reference & Bibliographies

Encyclopedias

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Searches across over 650 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference works to help you get started on your research. Use the mind map to consider related subjects and expand your understanding of a topic.
Credo includes several high quality encyclopedias dedicated to religious subjects.
Abbreviation: credo
Vendor: Credo Reference
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Images, Streaming Video
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Religion This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Religion is a dynamic, scholarly, and up-to-date reference work in religion, developed with the active involvement of renowned scholars from all around the world. All articles are written and peer reviewed by certified experts of the topic. Updated monthly, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Religion includes Multi-media embedded in articles, along with cross-referenced links to related content.
Abbreviation: orer
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: Religion
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

International Encyclopedia of Ethics
Provides clear definitions and explanations of all areas of ethics including the topics, movements, arguments, and key figures in normative ethics, metaethics, and practical ethics. Covers the major philosophical, legal and religious traditions.
Features articles from two FSU authors, Dr. John Kelsay and Dr. Sumner Twiss.

Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Oxford Bibliographies combines features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, giving researchers scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
Subjects:
African Studies
African American Studies
American Literature
Anthropology
Art History
Atlantic History
Biblical Studies
British and Irish Literature
Buddhism
Childhood Studies
Chinese Studies
Cinema and Media Studies
Classics
Communication
Criminology
Ecology
Education
Hinduism
International Law
International Relations
Islamic Studies
Jewish Studies
Latin American Studies
Linguistics
Literary and Critical Theory
Medieval Studies
Military History
Music
Philosophy
Political Science
Psychology
Public Health
Renaissance and Reformation
Social Work
Sociology
Victorian Literature

Abbreviation: oxbib
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: Religion, Urban and Regional Planning, *General / Multi-Subject, Bibliography
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Research Starter
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by an editorial team working at the School of Oriental and African Studies in London, established to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies, which have traditionally been part of the curriculum of SOAS. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam.

Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
Subject coverage: Islam, Muslim, Middle East, Arab, Asia, Africa, History, Political science, Arts, Humanities

Abbreviation: iislam
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: Asian Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Religion
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The IMB, long available in print and CD-ROM, is the most comprehensive index for Medieval Studies. The online database comprises over 300,000 records. All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included, within the date range 300–1500 AD. Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. There is free text searching within the records and searching by authors, titles, publication sources, years of publication, ISBN/ISSN, languages, subjects, place names, persons, families, texts, repositories, and centuries treated. A browse function within each field displays the available terms.
The online-only Bibliographie de Civilisation Mdivale (BCM) is a bibliography of books that can be searched together with or separately from the IMB. There is also an International Directory of Medievalists available alongside IMB. In addition the Brepolis Medieval Encyclopedias provide online access to 1) Europa Sacra, a directory based on two earlier works, 2) a major German-language print encyclopedia, Lexikon des Mittelalters (or LexMA), and 3) an online-only supplement, International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages. Citations in the IMB and BCM link to articles in the encyclopedias, which in turn link to citations in the IMB and BCM.

Abbreviation: imb
Vendor: Brepols Publishers
Coverage: 300–1500
Subjects: Art History, History, Literature, Religion, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Iter bibliography This link opens in a new window
Iter bibliography addresses many aspects of the Middle Ages and Renaissance, such as archaeology, art, history, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and science, covering the years 400–1700. It provides citations for books, journals, and essays.
Abbreviation: iter
Vendor: Iter, University of Toronto Libraries
Coverage: 1784–Current
Subjects: History, Literature, Religion, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs