Research Guides: *Business: Business &amp; Trade Articles

Best Places to Start

Business Source Complete

Wall Street Journal

New York Times

Forbes

Fortune

Bloomberg

Research your topic in Business Source Complete, then focus search using WSJ, NYT, Forbes, Fortune & Bloomberg.

Key Databases for Journal Articles and Other Scholarly Articles

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. Contains searchable cited references for more than 1,200 journals, and detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.
Abbreviation: bscomp
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1886–Current
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Insurance, Management & Strategy, Marketing, Real Estate, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sport Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Proceedings, Reports

ABI/INFORM Complete
Provides access to over 2790 scholarly journals and 2349 trade journals in business and economics.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. FSU has access to JSTOR’s Archive, Primary Sources, and Global Plants collections.
Tutorials:
JSTOR on YouTube
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665–Current
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

Business Newspapers

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal is the financial newspaper of record. It is an indispensable source for business professionals, providing business and financial news coverage, personal and company profiles, feature reporting, special reports, and regular columns.
Also see: ProQuest (for today's edition back to Jan 8, 2010) Wall Street Journal Online
Also see: Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition

Abbreviation: wsj
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1984–Current
Type: Citation Management, Newspapers and Newswires
New York Times (The) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times is considered the "official" U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches, and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.
See: New York Times 1980-Present Full Text (no images)
See also: New York Times 1923-2017 Full Text PDF
See also: New York Times 1851-2017 Full Text PDF

Abbreviation: nyt
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1980–Current
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires

Bloomberg Businessweek
Bloomberg Businessweek is a weekly business news and information magazine. Includes many annual special issues like CEO Compensation (1951) making the magazine important.

Looking for Trade Journals

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
(1971 - Present)
Search more than 700 publications for trade and industry information. Contains publications on every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and many more.
Business Source Complete
(1886 - Present)
Business Source Complete,This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content.
Fortune
Fortune is one of the earliest business magazines in the US. It covers companies, industries and events in US Business. There are several resources unique to this journal including the Fortune 500 (1955).
Forbes
Another early US business magazine covering companies, industries, individuals and events of US business. Unique resources available in Forbes include: Forbes lists - 500 Corporations (1955), Forbes 400 Richest People in US (1982) and large list of lists for other areas.

When FSU Doesn't Own the Publications

Interlibrary Loan

Distance students should use Interlibrary Loan to request books in the FSU Libraries as well as those in other libraries.

Search Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar for scholarly articles. If the full text of an article is not available on the Web, check the journals listing at the library catalog to see if it's available at FSU. If the FSU doesn't own the journal, request an interlibrary loan.