Research Guides: Resources for IFS 2023: Pop Music in Literature: Music specific resources

Quick Links

Frequently Used Resources (in order of relevance)

FSU Libraries OneSearch
more...less...
Get your call numbers here!
Oxford Music Online
Great first stop for composer, genre, period, instrument information and more. Article bibliographies get you to the next step in your research. Includes Grove Music and other relevant titles.
more...less...
Contains Grove Music and more.
Oxford Bibliographies
Great resource to target the top readings and resources on specific topics.
Music Index Online
Indexes major music periodicals from 1970 to the present.
JStor
Academic Search Complete
A general periodical index that includes music and interdisciplinary topics among many others.
Online Journals, A-Z
Quickly see if a title is available electronically or paper-only!
Citation Management Help
Refworks, EndNote, Zotero -- help for you!
Google Scholar with FSU full-text links
Google Scholar can be a useful searching tool, particularly when it checks against the electronic full text holdings at FSU. This link requires you to log in with your FSU e-mail information-- but it's worth it!
Purdue Online Writing Lab: MLA Format

FSU Libraries Databases A-Z
Main Campus printing plus print drivers
Download drivers to your computer; you can then send a print job to a campus printer and release it/print it on campus!

A few music-specific resources relevant for this course:

This online resource includes several major encyclopedias, including the Enyclopedia of Popular Music (2009) and the Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (frequently updated).

Overwhelmed by searches in some of the other resources? Music Index may help you focus your search.
Be sure to use the subject terms in citations to focus your search.
Music Index includes citations for articles on music topics from journals on a variety of subject areas (not just music periodicals and journals).

Again, overwhelmed by searches in other resources? IIMP may help focus your search.
Some overlap with Music Index, but has a broader emphasis (dance, film, some music).
Indexes Variety, Billboard, Rolling Stone and other popular periodicals.

Email Me

Contact:

Allen Music Library
College of Music, FSU
122 N. Copeland St.
Tallahassee, FL 32306

850-644-3999

Subjects: Music