Google Scholar can be a useful searching tool, particularly when it checks against the electronic full text holdings at FSU. This link requires you to log in with your FSU e-mail information-- but it's worth it!
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service where a student, faculty, or staff of Florida State University may obtain books or obtain photocopies of articles from other institutions.
Great first stop for composer, genre, period, instrument information and more. Article bibliographies get you to the next step in your research. Includes Grove Music and other relevant titles.
includes Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd ed., Grove Opera, and more
Please note: Oxford Reference only allows access for 5 FSU users at one time. If you are being asked for a username and password, please try to access the database later.
Subjects: Archaeology Art & Architecture Bilingual dictionaries Classical studies Encyclopedias English Dictionaries and Thesauri History Language reference Law Linguistics Literature Media studies Medicine and health Music Names studies Performing arts Philosophy Quotations Religion Science and technology Social sciences Society and culture
A digitized version of the alphabetical shelf list of music sources at the Sächsische Landesbibliothek –
Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Dresden acquired before 1983.
Contains some digitized manuscripts as well as digitized descriptions and catalogs of approximately 75,000 manuscripts in German libraries. Not limited to music.
An effort to comprehensively document the world's musical sources of manuscripts or printed music, works on music theory, and libretti stored in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections. Among the different series of RISM, only series A/II: "Music manuscripts after 1600" is currently available online. See the Print Resources page for more information.
A project that started as a collaboration between scholars at the University of Oxford and Royal Holloway, University of London, now based in Oxford in collaboration with the University Music Faculty and the Bodleian Library. DIAMM has created an electronic archive of more than 14,000 images, to assure their permanent preservation, and is able to present a significant number of them through this website to facilitate detailed study of this music and its sources.
Over 900 digitized manuscripts from the Morgan Library collection, including works by J. S. Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, Chopin, Debussy, Fauré, Haydn, Liszt, Mahler, Massenet, Mendelssohn, Mozart, Puccini, Schubert, and Schumann.
Searchable index of digitized music manuscripts from the Library of Congress, the British Library, the Morgan Library & Museum, the New York Public Library, Harvard University's Loeb Music Library, and the Julliard School's Wallace Library.
The UNT Music Library's Virtual Music Rare Book Room is composed primarily of digitized materials held in the Edna Mae Sandborn Music Rare Book Room. The collection is particularly strong in eighteenth-century French opera.
